Testing train in DC

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by prodigy2k7, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the book it says to test the train in DC to see if it runs properly.
    A train that runs well in DC should run excellent in DCC
    (Its a DCC equipped atlas loco)

    Should I just get 2 wires and hold it to my track from my old DC pack and see how my new train runs?

    I wont want to solder anyway just for analog testing.

    I dont know anything about electricity but THere isnt enough electricity to get electricuted right? lol...

    Is there any problems with just holding the wires to the track?
  2. Maineiac

    Maineiac New Model Railroader

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't need to worry about getting shocked at that low voltage. You should be fine taking the wires from your old DC power pack directly to the loco's wheels or to the track that the loco is on. However, if you connect the DC pack temporarily to your layout you should probably disconnect your DCC system first.
  3. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont have my DCC system yet :p lol
  4. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you don't have a DCC system yet, go ahead and solder the leads you're going to need for DCC anyway, and hook up your DC power pack to that...
  5. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    ....I hooked up everthing for my DCC system. I just didnt receive the zephyr yet...
    Please guys stick to what im saying...
    " I wont want to solder anyway just for analog testing."
    The question is can I hold the wires...its been answered....thats it!

    Sometimes I dont privide information cuz its not apart of what im asking...
  6. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    so your going to test it on ac first?
  7. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Prodigy: Start just by holding the wires to the track. When you get interested, get a pair of wires with alligator clips so that you can let go and watch the train run.
    You should be able to hook your DC power pack up to the DCC bus. It will give you a good idea if the DCC wiring is right.
  8. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is nothing magical about DCC. If you've wired it correctly Dc and DCC wil work just as well.