My layout progress

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by Denyons, Feb 3, 2007.

  1. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    There seems to be quite busy sessions for three persons :D
    What an awesome picture!
    A turntable is so right and something that I always have longed for :cry:

    Happy again and glad for the picture :)
  2. cpNscale

    cpNscale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking good there,I am just north west of you.May have bumped into you at the LHS,tryin to buy the same things :) ,Look forward to seeing more pics as you get more done.Check out my thread and maybe we can exchange ideas.
  3. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    What did you use to make your roads?
  4. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I picked the brains of a friend who had managed to extract the general road background from a game that he plays on the internet.
    I have the background saved on my computer and I printed it onto several sheets of AVERY Label paper. You do need to have a smooth surface to put the roads down or you will have a very bumby road.
    I glued down some arborite cuttings that I obtained from our local lumber store. I glued the arborite down with contact cement.
    For the yellow and white lines I brought up the road backgrond in my PAINT Program and drew lots of straight lines in the 2 colours.
    The benifit of putting the lines right onto the road background is that you don't have to worry about cutting the lines right up to the yellow as it will just blend into the main road that you have put down.
    I hope this makes sense as I am not that great at explaining.
    If anyone would like the background drop me an email and I will sens it to you.

    Attached Files:

  5. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    You must have been into my club (the ESMRE) at Londonderry Mall?
    Give me a call and drop over anytime.

    Reply to Nazgul..........
    I don't have a Track Plan on paper but maybe I could draw something up.

    Attached Files:

  6. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Denyons

    Why not just get the Zephyr? It has what you call "Jump Ports" where you can put two analogue smooth control (No Pulse Control) controllers to act like a digital contoller- just assign an address to them. They just can't control lights, sound etc... :thumb:
  7. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am sure the Zephyr would be OK but my concern is the wattage.
    I am told you can run 4 or 5 double headed trains which would probably be fine but if another person was wanting to do some switching it would not be enough.
  8. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    My scenery is still needing some greenery and especially lots of trees.
    I think that I will wait for warmer weather so I can make the trees on my patio table outside and avoid the fumes from the spray glue.
    My next job is to finish off a small lake which is at the left of the roundhouse.

    Attached Files:

  9. pgandw

    pgandw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I missing something? Do you actually have the operators and track to run 5 double-headed through trains and a switching local at the same time? I find myself able to run one switcher and one unattended train using a single controller at the same time - maximum.

    If you do have the capability, track, and operators to run 6 trains simultaneously, then it's time to move up to the big leagues, and never mind my rambling. Get a Super Chief or equivalent and a throttle per operator - preferably radio so operators aren't getting tangled up with each other.

    just my thoughts
  10. joesho

    joesho Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow really nice layout look foward to seeing more,but you might want to put the f units wheels back on the track it seems to have derailed :thumb: :D oh btw nice layout glad to see some canadian stuff :D:D:D :)
  11. joesho

    joesho Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow really nice layout look foward to seeing more,but you might want to put the f unit's wheels back on the track it seems to have derailed :thumb: :D oh btw nice layout glad to see some canadian stuff :D:D:D :)
  12. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    \

    It looks like the front wheels are off but the engine is acually branching off left into the passenger station track.

    Reply to PGANDW
    Maybe I was a little optamistic about 5 double headed engines. It would be more comfortable with 4.
    My layout is 19 feet X 12 feet and also has a pennisula down the centre.
    I already own a DT400 throttle that I use at my club...Just need the booster.
    I would be running the layout on my own mostly but I am sure some of my club (ESMRE) members will be wanting to drop over and bring their trains.
  13. Herc Driver

    Herc Driver Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those are great pictures of a really great looking layout. Quite a selection of diesel power, they all look great.
  14. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the comments....
    I have another couple of pics. to post.
    The first one is the 2 stall engine house at the east end of the town. It services the east end of the yard.
    The 2nd one is the main line entrance to the docks over two bascule bridges.

    Attached Files:

  15. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    The two steam locomotives at the first picture just looks great :)
    They seams to be old due to the weathering. Could you give us a closer picture of the locos? Please:wave:
  16. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Made a close up of those steamers you wanted and added another photo of my Big Boy and Challenger in the Roundhouse Yard.
    In the 3rd photo I tried to get a shot of most of my layout. I have just added the floor of the docks and still intend to add more admin buildings.

    Attached Files:

  17. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    This photo is of the pennisula section.
    It goes into a loop and under another mountain (from where I took the photo) and swings back down the modules.
    I have work to do on the loop section although the mountain is in place and just needs some trees and greenery.
    Does anyone have an easy way of drawing up a track plan?
    Someone asked for my track plan but it has 50 turnouts and I am not great at hand drawing.

    Attached Files:

  18. Jim Krause

    Jim Krause Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greetings Denyons from your southern neighbor in Montana. Question for you. What did you use for water? I've been experimenting with Woodland Scenics Realistic water but it takes forever to get to a cured state. In the meantime it collects dust and lint and slows down working in the area. Any suggestions?
  19. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jim, For the water in my docks and the fast flowing river, I used Matte Medium which is available at Drafting and Art stores. It is a syrupy consist and you spred it evenly over the surface. You have lots of time to make little waves in it as it takes overnight to set.
    I used the handle end of a spoon to flip up little waves. Of course you need to paint the base colour before applying the Matte Medium. When it has fully set I used some white acrillic paint from the local dollar store to whiten the tips of the waves. For this I poured some paint onto a piece of board and pressed a firm piece of pink styrafoam onto the paint to transfer the paint to the tips of the waves..Dont press too hard or you will have too much paint on the water.
    One other note....try to spread the Matte Medium to cover the suface but don't make it too deep or it will dry to a foggy white.
    Dennis

    Attached Files:

  20. Denyons

    Denyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jim, For the water in my docks and the fast flowing river, I used Matte Medium which is available at Drafting and Art stores. It is a syrupy consist and you spred it evenly over the surface. You have lots of time to make little waves in it as it takes overnight to set.
    I used the handle end of a spoon to flip up little waves. Of course you need to paint the base colour before applying the Matte Medium. When it has fully set I used some white acrillic paint from the local dollar store to whiten the tips of the waves. For this I poured some paint onto a piece of board and pressed a firm piece of pink styrafoam onto the paint to transfer the paint to the tips of the waves..Dont press too hard or you will have too much paint on the water.
    One other note....try to spread the Matte Medium to cover the suface but don't make it too deep or it will dry to a foggy white.
    Dennis