help getting Transformers.War.For.Cybertron models

Discussion in 'Anime, Cartoons, Figurines & Paperdolls' started by CrimosnBronxs, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. goodduck

    goodduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    249
    Anyone know why 3d ripper can not capture model from games that run on steam?
  2. yperihitikos

    yperihitikos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    After some tweaking and leet hax, I managed to make the ripper work. Ok then, lets do this. Who's got 3d studio max with 3dr plugin?
  3. yperihitikos

    yperihitikos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Topic views have almost doubled since I last posted, but nobody seems to actually want to try. Well, I no longer need help with the 3drs. As you can see, the models are too complex for papercraft, unless you make them 1:1. I'll probably use the models for mods for Fallout and Unreal Tournament 3.

    [​IMG]


    I can't play the game online, so I can only rip the single player bots. If you want to see Arcee, Slipstream, and the dlc characters, you'll have to send me 3drs.
  4. nav

    nav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    That looks like it's in sketchup, if it is I can help clean them up after this Monday 6th.
  5. ThunderChild

    ThunderChild Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    38
    If you can convert to .obj I'll also be willing to make it papermodel friendly.
    Do you by chance have the textures that goes with the model?
  6. yperihitikos

    yperihitikos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it's google sketchup. The best 3d modeling program I've used. It's an arse kicking modeling program fit for an aspiring 3d modeler. Shameless self promotion: Never ending Optimus Primal WIP

    [​IMG]

    3ds studio max is meh, and blender is...If I describe my feelings for blender, I'll be instantly permabanned. Suffice to say it has caused me pain, and I'd like to beat the designers within an inch of their lives, hospitalize them, and then beat them up again. Anyway, the models have been easy to clean up and rescale so far, thank Jesus. I plan to release the models in packs. Vehicle pack, weapon pack, etc.

    For some reason, 3dripper stops capturing shaders and textures after some minutes, but I don't know if it's a result of my own tweaking. Anyway. Do you know about textures?

    [​IMG]

    My guess is that it's a UV map or a glow map, but I don't know how to apply it to the model. And it's big too. About 3mb or so.
  7. nav

    nav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can do it in pepakura but don't load the .obj file it screws with the textures use 3ds or something else also .lwo is not a 'friendly' file type


    and mondo coolio dude
  8. ThunderChild

    ThunderChild Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    38
    Nah, I import into Maya and it's usually faster to just make a new model using the original as reference. That way I know every polygon of the model... :p
    I can import obj, 3ds and a few others.

    I'll see what I can do with that texture file. Shouldn't be a problem in Photoshop.
  9. yperihitikos

    yperihitikos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's Ironhide and Warpath in their vehicle modes, and a neutron assault blaster. I'm not quite sure if I got the dimensions right, but eh, everything that should be round is round.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Thanks

    I don't know how, lol. I remeber it I did it once, though.

    Not in my case. I tend to spend hours tweaking and adding more and more details, when I create a new model. And in some cases, I spend hours adding details to models that I ripped. I rarely use 3d ripper. But I agree, most of the time 3d ripper distorts the models so bad, it's a lost cause. I only use it when I run out of options.
    I just remembered I have a friend on f3underground that might be able to help with the texture thing. He managed to port hellgate london meshes and textures to fallout 3. I'll see if he's still around.
  10. nav

    nav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think you need to edit the texture file just clean up the model first and then apply the textures in pepakura it shouldn't be affected.
  11. hellbringer17

    hellbringer17 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys good news! I'm going to see if a friend of mine can rip trypticon when he has some spare time cause he's a bit swamped with school and other models right now. No gurantees but we'll see what happens. Although my ideal trypticon model is having him HUGE (18 inches) with simple joints: one at each arm and one at each thigh here the legs connect. You know, so he will be in-scale with the deluxe Transformers figures. Anybody up for making him if I can get it lol? It would be awesome to have him like that!
  12. nav

    nav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have metroplex and trypticon but they're really detailed an not suitable for paper models.
  13. ChrisOfTheDead360

    ChrisOfTheDead360 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there, I've been looking for these models for a while too. from what I've read and seen you've been able to successfully rip them but I don't see anything if you've posted a link for others to download them.

    As for the requests to convert them, I have maya 2008 and 3DS Max 2010 so maybe if you can get me the files I may be of help to everyone.
  14. Johnnymuffintop

    Johnnymuffintop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm actually interested in doing a 1:1 scale Optimus in vehicle mode, so I'd greatly appreciate an unfold of that beast.
    Bumblebee would also be swell.
  15. ThunderChild

    ThunderChild Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    38
    A 1:1 scale!?! :eek: Good luck with that! U going to use fiberglass?
  16. Johnnymuffintop

    Johnnymuffintop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, starting by doing it in cardboard, somewhat like this: http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4041/4666050612_3409f50ed2.jpg
    Then fiberglassing the hell out of it.

    Also, yperihikos, would it be possible for you to export the model of Starscream in vehicle mode? I want to attempt to make a custom toy but I need a stepping off point for it in vehicle mode.
  17. yperihitikos

    yperihitikos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys. I have good news and bad news. A lot of things happened since I last posted, that have kept me from spending much time on the models. I'll be leaving for the next 8 months, to serve in the army as a conscript. Thanks to our out-of-touch-with-reality officers, it'll be a walk in a park in hell. They are like the managers in the Dilbert animated series. Before I leave, I'll leave two 3d models I tried hard to fix (and I believe they are perfect). Prime's alt mode and Ratchet's robot mode.

    [​IMG]

    If you use these models or parts of them, then I want you to give credit to the company for making the game, and to me for ripping them. People have used my work in the past (original work, non anything ripped) without giving me credit, and it suckes, so if I don't get credit, I won't release anything else.
    Btw, I'm more commonly known as "Michalanthropos" around the intrnet.


    I'll see what I can do.
  18. CrimosnBronxs

    CrimosnBronxs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    What did you use to rip them from the game they look great can't wait to get started on them
  19. yperihitikos

    yperihitikos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using a 3dripper I tweaked to heck. Normaly, 3dripper can't work on DirectX 10 games. This one can:p. It still distorts the models. I fix them with google sketchup.
  20. nav

    nav Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok yperihitikos i can help with cleaning up now so if you want i can help a bit