G.E.C's layout pictures

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by green_elite_cab, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    the only thing with the blue is so that passenger trains can use the other side of the station. They can't use the inner circle. It could also work to bring the larger freight trains in close to the yard.

    At the same time, you are probably right because it will be difficult to find a switch that fits and that works properly, and in the end it will be so much more work than necessary.
  2. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it at all possible to move the platform to the outer track for passenger trains?? I think that it would be cool to have the platform just before the diamond crossing. Your passenger train could come in and stop and then your shunter can quickly cross the mainline into the red loop and your passenger can leave again.

    Also, not to sure if they did/ do it on the Pennsy/ North East Corridor but you get a thing where in certain instances they allow trains to ride down on the wrong main line- can't remember what it's called. That can add to the operations where your longer trains can maybe go down the wrong side of the mainline holding up traffic.

    Just a few thoughts...
  3. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    the platform is already on the outer track the red and blue tracks would let me use the other side of the platform.
  4. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats fine! In the end, i'd need more curved switches, and they probably cost a bundle that i don't want to pay.

    besides, i've found a VERY good article on scratchbuilding catenary, better then the one i was originally using.

    and of course, i've been trying to save up for my local commuter railroad's multiple unit cars, which also are expensive in HO. I'll just stick to the red for now.
  6. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I just went and completed the red track. Its about the same, except that I had to use a curved switch on the left side of the above diagram, and i had to push it all the way up to close to the opposite corner. It looks really nice though, and definitely will help with switching and stuff. It gives my yard a bit more space for trains to switch (while still allowing other trains to pass). it offers easier access to the interchange, and when switching the other side of the layout, i can just push one train onto the siding and pull the other one from the yard. This makes the layout work together alittle better. Even though the train will end up going into the yard scene no matter what (even without this track), atleast now i can kinda make it look like things make sense.

    Right now, the only major problem caused by this is that one of my highway bridges needs to be changed to accomadate the new track layout. I also need to find a switch machine that will work on the Peco switch I used.

    I think i will also have to invest in a Trackmobile, since even my 44 tonner is proving to be to big by a small margin for working in my industrial park. I wish i realized what i was doing when i built this layout and then tried to squeeze not only more cars then what was originally intended for this layout, but also all 50' and above.

    I'm also assembling a couple Conrail GP15-1s, so maybe some of the small size issues can be reduced in that respect.

    By sheer luck i found a Smokey Valley frame in a hobby shop, and i'm grabbing a Walthers GP15-1 with Farr radiator grills off ebay. I plan to mount a Smokey Valley Conrail body onto this frame if i can get away with it, and then i'll have a pair of GP15-1s, which would look perfect on my layout. I might still paint up the original walthers shell for Burlington Northern, or what ever matching railroad I fancy.

    I might luck out and get a pair of PRR Silverliner EMUs, so we'll see how that goes.

    My C32-8 project is also moving along. Picks of all of this will come soon, right now its so late, i better sleep.
  7. ocalicreek

    ocalicreek Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been very happy with my Critter from MDC/Roundhouse (EMD Model 40). It's heavy for its size, crawls along nicely and wasn't too hard to modify. Getting a decoder in there was tricky, but not impossible. I changed the lights to yelloglo LEDs while I was at it, added a few details and repainted. Still need to letter and number the unit before I can weather.

    Anyway, there are a still a couple in use around the US at industrial sites, I think. But those new trackmobiles are cool...and the new 44 tonners have a better drive system than the old two-motor jobs.

    Are you still contemplating a different track plan?
  8. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgot about those critters! they'd probably be better now that you mention it. the trackmobiles only have couplers on one side (atleast a working one, the other is a scale dummy). I think the trackmobile only has one powered wheelset as well. I'll have to see about a critter. I know i saw one once, but i forget where. Its only going to have to pull at max four 50' cars, so I think it can be done. I'll have to hunt one down.

    My current 44 tonner is a single motor, but the thing still growls like mad. It doesn't run so great either, but i think this is the decoder. For some reason, all my Digitrax decoders seem to fall apart. After a certain point, it will only run on 14 speed steps. I can do 28, but then the headlight turns on and off, and at 128 the headlight just stays off, or may not even run at all, despite CV29 being programmed to run at 28/128 speed steps. I might have to try reprogramming some of these. Maybe something is breaking on them. I've been buying NCE since then with no trouble.

    As far as the new track plan, I don't think i'm going to undergo anything major. I'm still collecting the equipment to run on the Northeast Corridor, but at the same time, i'll be heading off to college soon now, and i'm trying not to spend as much as i used to on the hobby (although i'm far from dropping it, i have enough current projects to last me another year or so). I'm thinking that instead, i'm going to just make a smaller addition, and focus on more industrial switching in my Oil refinery and some other businesses. I'm also thinking of adding a "dummy mainline", so that i can line up some of my bigger road switchers in a natural looking environment.

    My other plan is to just start building Northeast corridor modules. a couple small sections of track with catenary and a particular scene probably won't be half bad, if not to display my electric engines and multiple unit trains until a more complete layout can be made.

    Its probably the cost more than anything thats scaring me.
  9. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pictures, as promised!

    The first three show show the track plan changes

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This is the first of three Smokey Valley Conrail GP15-1s i plan to build. The first two will be the original paint, while the third i think i will paint and detail with the Conrail Quality paint scheme that appeared in the 1990s. Hopefully, My Walthers GP15 and additional Smokey Valley frame i obtained get here sooner. I have Cannon & Co parts on the way to replace the ends, since they are too "pointy".

    [​IMG]

    My C32-8 Project is rolling along, but its stuck right now. The last od the detail parts i need are from atlas, and they aren't here yet. I still have a little bit of shell modification to go (i need to make a hole for the rachet-brake housing in the right side of the nose). After that, I can start painting. Its unusuall for atlas to not ship for a whole week though. I wonder why its taking them so long?

    [​IMG]

    I found Dash-8 sideframes by Smokey Valley that fit the C32-8's athearn trucks. originally, i thought i was stuck with the u-boat side frames. The front trucks dont' have sideframes because i need to add speed recoders on one side, and a brake chain on the other.

    [​IMG]

    The radiators and see through steps leading to the cab were annoying but i pulled them off.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ANd now for some pictures!

    SD45-2 #6660 idles on the new passing siding

    [​IMG]

    U23B #2735 runs around to the front of the train.

    [​IMG]

    B40-8 #5078 and SD45-2 #6660 Pull a unit train of tank cars from the interchange.

    [​IMG]

    No matter how finnicky this locomotive is, i still love it. In fact, its the perfect test for track problems. The locomotive is so demanding of perfect track that any flaw will cause it to shut down. it and my AEM7s are extremely valuable for track testing.

    Not to mention, its gorgeous.

    [​IMG]

    Its super long to... Its not the longest i own, but it definitely has the illusion of being really long. In reality, SD40-2s are the same size, and subsquent SDs and GEs are probably bigger. the B40-8 above is nearly as long. then again, its big to.

    [​IMG]

    GP40-2 #3401 and GP38 #7868 roll back to the yard.

    [​IMG]

    The U-boat and the "B-boat". an aging U34CH catches its breath as a newere shinier GE dash-8 roars past.

    [​IMG]

    Amtrak E60MA #610 basks in the morning sun.

    [​IMG]
  10. Triplex

    Triplex Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice to see the C32-8 finally taking shape.
  11. Ralph

    Ralph Remember...it's for fun!

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice updates! I especially like the busy railroad look of the three track curve and the next photo with the diamond. Big time railroading happening here!
    Ralph
  12. puddlejumper

    puddlejumper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    GEC I LOVE your layout!!! :thumb:I am a big Conrail fan. Currently I model PRR and hope to build a south end NEC layout (Benning-Washington Terminal-Pot Yard) I used to have 30 or so CR diesels and in what must have been a psychotic episode I sold them all off. :cry: Wish I hadn't done that. Did have a C32-8 in Ballast express, what is yours going to be? The Wlathers GP15-1, all the Athearn blue box and special editions before the new and much nicer ones. My favorites by far are the SD40/40-2/45/45-2/SDP45 but never had a chance to get the 45/45-2/SDP45. I think your pix are getting my blood turning blue again, might need to get a model of CR 6666. Your 6660 is a beauty.

    I can't WAIT to see more pix! :thumb:

    Dave
  13. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys!

    the C32-8 will be ballast express. I was thinking og going blue whan i realized the paint scheme was late conrail, but i already had the paints and decals so i'm sticking to it.

    ANd if you get a SD45-2, be wary of those already sound equipped. The MRC decoder used by genesis has no Back EMF, and so it will be a really REALLY annoying locomotive until you have perfect track and until you tweak enough of it's CVs to get it to start slowly.
  14. puddlejumper

    puddlejumper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if I get one without sound it will be okay? Thanks for the tip!

    Dave
  15. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, thats basically the gist of it. hey, its cheaper that way anyway, lol!
  16. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the rest of my GP15-1 bodies and things ready, i just need the rest of the cannon cabs, noses, and ends, and i should be able to start painting. I also have all the C32-8 parts, so i can start finishing that.

    Here are some pictures of the new Silverliner IIs i have. FOr the whole set, I payed $40. they are apperantly brass, and they just need a little work to get them running. someone already put the gears into one truck, i just need to mount the motor, decoderize it, and roll them out!


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  17. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i'd be farther along on mY C32-8 if not for the paint problems. For a change of pace, i'm going to be building an RB-47H.

    Yes, that isn't a train, its a plane. Its the Boeing Stratojet. Gotta mix things up every once in the while! it doesn't really match my time period at all, but its one of the sexier jets (in my opinion) to grace the skies. This particular model is the recon version, its basically a spy plane. It still has that good old SAC bare aluminium finish that you know and love.

    Anyway, i knock out airplane kits in hours, so i'll probably post a picture of it over the layout soon.
  18. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing like an Airplane kit to remind you why you went to trains in the first place.

    Once again, i'm sitting here trying to plan an addition. I think i'm going to totally drop the idea of a Northeast Corridor for now. that layout would require space i don't have for the trackwork alone to work right. I think instead i'm going to try and loosely model a freight mainline with some switching and stuff that still holds that same kind of feel as the Chemical Coast and those regions. I've though about have a "dummy" NEC cross over the layout (could be a good test track in disguise!) for picture purposes, but we'll see.

    Right now, i think i'm going to try and focus on the oil industry. If i have space, i'd like to squeeze maybe a couple autorack loading facilities in there. I'm not sure i'd have space for the both of them, but seeing as i have the structures for both, we'll see.
  19. ocalicreek

    ocalicreek Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    So...how is that different from what you've got now? I've had the sketching stuff out for a while, so mebbe I'll bump the planning thread again.

    I've heard of folks using a dummy flyover track as a programming track for DCC. A stage for a photo track would certainly work too.

    Can you give us a short list of the structures you have now (so that I don't have to dig back through the thread)?
  20. CNWman

    CNWman CNW Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hear you on the plane kit, I'm currently super-detail painting a Revell Snaptite A-10 Warthog that I built back in 1999 while I have some break time due to my lack of model train stuff to mess with right now.

    So, abandoning the passenger-oriented Northeast for a simpler freight line? Might be more interesting in the long run anyhow, although considering all the passenger equipment you have, a few commuters might still be necessary:mrgreen:.

    Here's a tip for the autorack if you can't fit them all in: use a mirror at the end of a track and keep at least one tank car there. If you place it at an angle, it should create the illusion of more racks. Maybe make them interchangable with workers at different spots to change things up now and then, maybe?