BeezerV's N Layout

beezerv

Jun 19, 2006
NJ/CT
Hello everyone. I'm new to the site so here are some pics and details of my first N scale layout. I grew up running O scale but due to my small graduate student apartment I decided to try some N and I love it so far. I never really did any landscaping or modeling with the big trains so this is my first attempt.

1.jpg

Here is the overall layout. I went with Atlas Code 55 track cause I liked the looks but wish I hadn't. The engines bump over the turnouts and you have to put new wheels on every car you buy. What a pain!

2.jpg

Here is the overhead view. As you can see I have alot of ballasting to still do. I haven't quite gotten the hang of it yet.

3.jpg

Here is the power supply and control box. I made the control box from scratch out of radio shack parts. (I'm very proud of it haha) The top left switch controls the turntable and the others control seven turnouts with tortoise switch machines. I hope to upgrade to DCC some day.

4.jpg

This is the roundhouse I made from the Atlas kit. I still have to add some of the detail parts such as lights and handrails.

5.jpg

Here is the rolling stock I have collected so far.

6.jpg

This is my Kato SD40-2 pulling Kato bethgon coalporters.

7.jpg

This is my only other engine. Its an Atlas GP-35 that I hardly ever use because it barely runs. I have been trying to figure out whats wrong with it forever.

8.jpg

This is just a shot I like of the SD40-2 coming out of the tunnel.

I'd love any comments or suggestions for improvement you have. Thanks for looking.

Beezer

beezerv

Jun 19, 2006
NJ/CT
Thanks for the compliments. My next big thing is to upgrade to DCC. I am in the process of converting the two engines. I know the layout is small but I would love to be able to move the cars around the inside track while a long train runs on the mainline. After the engines are done I was thinking of getting the Digitrax Zephyr starter set.