Are we running faster and better?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ezdays, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    We need some feedback. How are things running today since we now have a new set of hardware to handle things? Is loading pages faster? Has anyone experienced "time-outs" when waiting for a page to load? How about you people on dial-up? Do you see any difference.

    And remember too, you can now upload directly to a post, Peter fixed that as well.:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
  2. woodone

    woodone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Too soon for me to tell. Just got on line this morning.
    I did not notice any problems before- I don't post that much so that may be the differance.
    I am sure there were many hours to get this installed. Thanks to Peter's hard work.
    Thanks Peter for a great job.:thumb:
  3. Art Decko

    Art Decko Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Things are MUCH faster from Shanghai (China). Before, I was clocking page loads in the 3 - 5 minute range (across cable broadband). Tonight, the last two threads had 20 *second* page load times. That's a difference of an order of magnitude! Great job!!

    Also glad to hear we can again upload graphics. Good work!
  4. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is loading much faster for me today, Don. I made one post where I made one of my normal typos and hit the submit button before I saw the typo and had to go back to edit. I had to use the "go advanced" button to get the edit to load, but on other posts that I wanted to edit, the normal edit function went through very fast for me. It is a big improvement. Thanks for all of the work you guys have put into the site.
  5. cnw1961

    cnw1961 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh yeah, a lot faster than yesterday :mrgreen::mrgreen:sign1. No, seriously, it is running very well today and even though I didn’t have any problems with loading speed most of the time, it even seems to be a bit faster now. Peter, thank you for all the work you put into The Gauge and for "wasting" a Sunday to upgrade the hardware :thumb:.
  6. Peter T Davis

    Peter T Davis Guy Behind the Curtains

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback everyone. So far, it's noticeably faster for me too.

    One more thing I have on the to-do list, hopefully today, is changing how the attachments are stored. Right now we have almost 45,000 attachments in the database. It's huge!

    The change in how we store them should make a difference in how fast the site is too. And, I have two 500 GB hard drives in this beast now too, so go ahead and upload!
  7. Renovo PPR

    Renovo PPR Just a Farmer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except for yesterday sign1 it has always been as fast as it is today for me. I guess I was one of the few that didn't have any problems.
  8. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is running lots faster for me, and I like the way you have more threads on the start page now.
    Thanks Peter !

    Loren
  9. Chessie6459

    Chessie6459 Gauge Oldtimer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed on my end it is running slow. Was running fast earlier today but not now, it is back to being slow for me.:curse:
  10. doc_harvey

    doc_harvey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did not have any problems either. The site has been loading up and running just fine for me. I hope that the attachment upload problem is fixed.

    Pete
  11. RobertInOntario

    RobertInOntario Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's maybe a little too soon to tell for sure, but it seems to be running well.

    Rob
  12. pfs

    pfs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems better, once you sperate all the attachments from the DB we will notice marked improvement. Good luck.
  13. ocalicreek

    ocalicreek Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    When the changeover was first made, I did notice that it was running slower on my dial-up connection at home AND on my faster connection at work. But lately it does seem to be loading a little more quickly at home.

    Also I'm thankful that I can now edit the pictures in my old posts.
  14. straight-track

    straight-track Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems decidedly faster for me. I only have to test loading some pix. Thanks for the great improvement Peter ! :wave: :wave: :wave: :wave:


    ___________
    Joe
  15. Jim Krause

    Jim Krause Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't been on for about a week. I did notice that when I tried to get onto The Gauge, I got a "Database Error" notification instead of the title.
  16. chooch.42

    chooch.42 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just back on since the weekend, seems faster than before the weekend's work,nearly as quick per page as before the upgrade to Zealot (on my 128k DSL). Thanks Peter and everyone else for burning it at both ends ! Got my pics back too! No more "RED X's" Bob C
  17. phoneguy

    phoneguy member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO I've got a 1.5 DSL and it's still slower than before you changed. I can't go to links in posts. When I try to go back to the original post it says page timed out. I have to relog on and start at the beginning.
  18. alexbnfan

    alexbnfan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    about the same, by the time it reaches me (remember, it has the pacific ocean to cross
  19. Bones

    Bones Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'd say it's better overall. A noticable improvement.
    I'm having some 'time out' issues with certain topics though. I still haven't found the commen denominator for those topics, but I'll let you know if I do.
  20. nkp174

    nkp174 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've experienced the same thing. Sometimes posting requires the same thing.