From Plastics to Card Models

Capt_Doug61

Feb 19, 2024
I've been a plastic kit modeler for over 50+ years. I am now considering making the switch to card models for several reasons. The cost of plastic kits and supplies has risen so much. Have any others in this group made the switch from plastic to paper? All thoughts on this topic are appreciated.

Last edited:

micahrogers

Moderator "Where am I, and how did I get here?"
Staff member
Jul 12, 2012
Shannon GA
I am in the process of making the switch, I'm working thru my stash, and making small card models to build my skills as well. There are so any diverse subjects to build in card.

Capt_Doug61

Feb 19, 2024
I am in the process of making the switch, I'm working thru my stash, and making small card models to build my skills as well. There are so any diverse subjects to build in card.
Thank you for the reply. I agree, so many interesting choices. For me too there is health factors with all the chemicals involved in building plastic kits. The plastic kit hobby has gotten terribly expensive. I too plan on starting with simple card kits to increase my skills.

Reactions: zathros

mijob

Tie designer
Staff member
Jul 5, 2020
Netherlands
When I was much younger I build plastic models, when I found the paper models that was a game changer for me.

Reactions: Capt_Doug61

Rhaven Blaack

!!!THE MAN BEHIND THE CURTAIN!!!
Staff member
Administrator
Jun 12, 2009
Oregon
www.deviantart.com