Wye's for passing sidings??

Discussion in 'Track Planning' started by DOUBLEJK, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. DOUBLEJK

    DOUBLEJK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will this work using 2 Wye's for passing sidings on a main line?

    [​IMG]
  2. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    question: why wouldnt it work?
    Im no expert but I dont see why not...
  3. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. You will take a bit less space than with the equivalent standard turnout. There will also be a moderate speed restriction on both tracks compasred to no retriction and a severe restriction if you used standard.
    Remember that for the same "radius" of turnout, a wye has half the frog number. Also, you could probably replace a pair of #6 turnouts with a 4 or 5 wye in the same space.
  4. doctorwayne

    doctorwayne Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had to look, if only because I had a different interpretation of "wye". The plan that you show will work fine, although just regular switches are what would be normally used.

    Wayne
  5. DOUBLEJK

    DOUBLEJK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank's Guy's
    I was trying to get the space occupied by the passing siding down to a minimum that was passable.
  6. Triplex

    Triplex Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    The real railroads often use this setup for exactly this reason.
  7. shortliner

    shortliner Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bear in mind that you still need passing clearance between the two siding tracks!
  8. Rusty Spike

    Rusty Spike Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Based on past bad experiences, I try very hard to have my mainline run on straight and smooth track to avoid derailment problems (mainline always takes the straight route on a standard T.O. or the widest on a curved T.O.). I use wyes off the mainline but not on it. I find this especially true if I just want to put a train in motion and not have to worry about it (while tinkering on some other project or portion of the railroad). As always though, you'll have to weigh the pluses and minuses for what matters most to you. One other consideration is if you'll be reversing cars over the wye on a regular basis - if so, give more consideration to using a standard T.O. so cars can be backed up over straight track.

    Have fun figuring it out - that's one of the best parts of the hobby in my opinion.