Wye module progress

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by b28_82, Apr 24, 2004.

  1. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    heres how the left side is starting to look like. I took some spackle and started to make the road and area where the gas station will be. The Pavement area is pretty much done in the way of the spackle i just need to build the gas station get the ground painted and lay down the "asphalt" & "concrete" I actually enjoyed doing the roads.

    Attached Files:

  2. rcwatkins

    rcwatkins Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like good progress on your wye.
  3. Matthyro

    Matthyro Will always be re-membered

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice work. You are making good progress
  4. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well since we had problems with the forum I'll post the picture I had up last week. I'll also add a couple others.

    Attached Files:

  5. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    That second one i had to compress so much it looks like crap now :curse: originally a 2272xwhatever.... well heres the lot area. I've since painted it with concrete. I should take some pictures of that :p these squares are about 12'x12' I put the truck there to give you an idea. I'm thinking i made the squares too small as i've noticed concrete can be in bigger areas. Oh well this will be fudged :D Anyone know anything about how the concrete would normaly be spaced? I've found limited information on this subject.

    Attached Files:

  6. Sir_Prize

    Sir_Prize Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried looking at Pics of Airport Runways (Of course these days that could get you in trouble). Anyways, looking at images may be your only way to figure the spacing. You might try a search for Building warehouses, or hangers (they often have wide floors).
    Sorry... Only suggestions. I don't have any straight to it links.
  7. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Part of the 401 in Toronto is still concrete slab construction. The slabs are about 12 feet wide (one lane), but are longer - I don't know by how much. It is hard to judge distances when travelling at 100+ km/h. Maybe 30 - 40 feet long? I think your squares look just right for a gas/service station.

    Andrew
  8. SD90

    SD90 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice work, I'm going to make a wye on my layout also, keep up the good work. What is the radius on the curve?
  9. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys.

    SD90- as for the radius on the curve they are both a little under 24" mainly because of the space i had to squeeze it in. I tried to get it as close to 24 as possible because of the N-trak standards. If they reject using it i wont be too upset. The main reason i made an N-trak wye is to connect it to my future oNe track modules. I was also informed i have to use an auto reverser if I use dcc to reverse the loco as far as polarity and direction. Apparently you cant manually reverse it with dcc beause you have to have something smart enough to reverse the direction of the loco in the isolated section.
    Back to the radius. so far i've run autoracks around the curve and it looks a little weird but they run fine on it.
  10. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    After break from modeling aka deployment to Georgia.... I started working on the gas station some more. Partly since all monday I was stuck on the Apartment without a vehicle. My truck just stopped running in the middle of the road so I coasted into the Whataburger and called some friends from work to see if we could figure it out. After some scratching of the heads, I called for a tow truck and had it taken to the dealership since I got the extended warranty. Well enough of my rambling....

    Here's the road sign with the gas prices. The prices are adjusted to reflect the current year as shown.

    Attached Files:

  11. Grantha

    Grantha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very nice work.

    Only 1.869 per gallon for gas!! :cry:
  12. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D haha yah yah. I know you guys pay like 4 somethin. I think us americans should take a look at your budgets up there. It was up to 1.99 but since then it had dropped. I remember a little over a couple years ago it was down to 0.99 so this is a drop in the wallet for what we're used to.
  13. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    b28_82: the reversing module is your insurance. It also is something you can put in and then forget about.
    If your wye was just for reversing locos, I would suggest hooking it up through the dpdt switches on a switch machine. But if you have a string of modules beyond, it would have to flip their polarity every time you changed the switch.
  14. b28_82

    b28_82 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah the plan is to have some way of attaching my future oNe track modules to an Ntrak setup. I thought that I could do it manually the way i was planning on wiring it as shown below

    Attached Files:

  15. rcwatkins

    rcwatkins Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice work on the wye, and those gas prices! :)
  16. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    That will work, as long as your operators know what they're doing.
    You may get problems if the locos get through the reversing section and there are metal wheeled cars still coming in from the main.
  17. screwysquirrel

    screwysquirrel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, looks too inexpensive!
  18. rcwatkins

    rcwatkins Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    No actually gas in my area is about $1.65. :eek: