Wiring a layout

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by bassbuster, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. bassbuster

    bassbuster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking to get started on my layout and was wondering if anyone has any tips or good information on wiring. I know if it isn't done correctly, you could really do damage to your DCC system.
  2. cidchase

    cidchase Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Bassbuster,:wave:
    At your LHS you should be able to pick up The Atlas Wiring Book for a few dollars. It's worth the money. :thumb: It includes info on wiring turnouts, track, reverse loops, etc.:)
  3. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    you basically only need 2 wires, until your layout gets bigger and more complicated with reverse sections and such. I don't have my turnouts attached to the DCC system, so i don't know about them.
  4. bassbuster

    bassbuster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info, I will check out my LHS.
  5. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do your wiring to the track live. Have a loco on the track and run it onto any new section that's been wired; don't connect more than 2 wires without testing. In fact, attach the wires to the bus wires by twisting first until you're sure they're the right way round.