Who is running DCC?

Gary Pfeil

May 7, 2001
Boonton NJ
Visit site
Hi Bob, I've been using DCC for several years now. I love the freedom from block wiring. It's not so much the wiring I disliked but the requirement of throwing switches to keep the throttle controlling a given train as it progressed around the layout. Now, DCC is capable of doing much more, and it will no doubt grow even more capable. However, other than adding sound as my budget allows, I don't use the other functions. I have no desire to throw turnouts from my throttle. I would like to add signalling (time to wire those blocks again!) but frankly am not up to it at this time. I am lacking in computer knowledge and the desire to obtain it, you would think (correctly) that my DCC knowledge would be similarly constrained. Signalling (Digitrax, as far as I know the others don't offer it yet) requires computer interface, unless a friend appears who wants to guide me it won't be happening for a long while. But...
The talk you hear about DCC being complex is false. In its basic form, controlling locos, it is very easy! Installing decoders in some of the older locos can be a challange. I've hard wired many, in Athearn, Life Like P2k (older without sockets) Stewart, etc, none were a problem as long as you have basic soldering skills. Often, figuring out how to get the shell off is the hardest part! Most of the new locos (I'm talking HO) have sockets now so installation takes a couple minutes. Programming? If I can do it anyone can. Again, I don't use extra lighting functions like strobes or ditch lights, I understand these are sometimes confusing to program. Probably most people would have less trouble than I with that. The reason DCC is perceived as difficult, I think, is that it offers so much more above the basic functions I use.