Which turnouts to use for Scenic and Relaxed?

Discussion in 'Track Planning' started by Evan, Oct 11, 2004.

  1. Evan

    Evan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am starting to plan and get things together for the Scenic and Relaxed Railroad - trackplan by Atlas. But, I'm not too sure which turnouts to get - Atlas #4's or #6's?

    Thanks
  2. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    What radius are you using, and what sort of motive power/rolling stock are you going to run.
  3. jdscales040

    jdscales040 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also main line or yard. I'd stick to #6's on the main if I had the room for them. #4's are ok in the yard..
  4. screwysquirrel

    screwysquirrel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the book plan,It uses mostly the #4s. #6s can work but will require some adjustment
  5. Tileguy

    Tileguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Peco Power routing #8 for mainline and #6 for yards.
    Use #4's only when you absolutly positivly have no other option or for logging or mountain rr ing.
    Wont fit??
    Get a bigger room :)
  6. jdscales040

    jdscales040 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahhhh yes, we would all love a bigger room, but availabilty is not always there. Some of us are stuck with what we have. :confused:
    I have a around the walls shelf type switching railroad. I use GP38's (Atlas) and up to 65' cars. I have a lot of #4's as sometimes thats what fits. Most of the track is code 70 with a fair amount of code 55. I use what I like, throw out what I don't. Derailments? Last one was when I shoved a cut thru a closed switch 2 years ago.
    Someday when I hit the lottery I hope to put it all under wire and operate using Steeple Cab Electrics.:) :wave: :thumb:

    Wont fit??
    Get a bigger room :)[/QUOTE]
  7. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Evan,I would stick with what ever switches the plans call for..If the plan calls for #4s switches that is exactly what I would use due to the track plan specifications.
    You see the #6s and those #8s are longer switches.As SS stated you can use #6 switches but,you will need to adjust the track plan if possible.
    Now on my switching layout I use #4s and up to 72 foot center beam lumber cars
    with no problems.
  8. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use the standard line turnouts that the plan calls for. They've been a staple of the hobby for years and as much as people want to sound important by telling you to use larger turnouts it won't make much of a difference on a layout like this anyway. No sense in adding more complication to the matter, especially if this is one of your first layouts.
  9. Evan

    Evan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Could someone PM me what the plan calls for? The only thing I have is a picture of the plan that I found in one of the archived messages here. I don't know what the components of it are, only that it looks cool, fits the space and has all the features I want. It's my first layout, so need to plan things properly.

    Thanks