What is this

BigJim

Nov 19, 2006
North Plains, Oregon
dixiemtn.com
This may be a stupid question but I am new to railroading - model & proto.

This car is sitting on a "tunnel spur" in the hills west of Portland Oregon. It was connected to the front of a loco. Looks like water pipe connections but I have never seen a water tank this shape. Seems to me if you filled something this big with water it would be very heavy.

Ideas?
tankcar.jpg

bigsteel

Call me Mr.Tinkertrain
Dec 12, 2006
Cincinnati,Ohio
it looks to me like its a seperate generator or something.maybe a steam generator since it has grills at one end and theres water pumps everywher.it may also be some sort of MOW car,i dunno never seen one up close.--josh

BigJim

Nov 19, 2006
North Plains, Oregon
dixiemtn.com
Did a web search - Found pictures with "DLMX 4219" that identified it as Water Tender number from 2002 but they show it as all black. If it is a Steam Engine Water Tender what is it doing sitting on a very small spur by a tunnel hooked to the front of a diesel loco?

Squidbait

Recovering ALCO-holic
Jan 27, 2007
Paris, ON
It is the auxilliary tender for the SP Daylight #4449. It looks like they're using it to supply water for something... all that plumbing in the lower right is some sort of pumping apparatus.

Cannonball

More Trains Than Brains
Dec 4, 2006
St. Joseph, MO
BigJim said:
Did a web search - Found pictures with "DLMX 4219" that identified it as Water Tender number from 2002 but they show it as all black. If it is a Steam Engine Water Tender what is it doing sitting on a very small spur by a tunnel hooked to the front of a diesel loco?
Converted it to a fuel tank?

BigJim

Nov 19, 2006
North Plains, Oregon
dixiemtn.com
You must be right. I have found some pictures of the 4449 and this looks like the "2nd" tender behind the loco.