Track Incompatibility?

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Bob Collins, Jun 17, 2001.

  1. Bob Collins

    Bob Collins Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi;

    I have two bridge kits that came with 100 gauge track. I am laying 83. There is a "bump" where they join. What is the standard procedure for eliminating the bump please? Is there a track joiner that addresses this problem? Just please don't tell me I have to change the track on the bridge! I guess I would file the end of the 100 track to lessen the abruptness of the connection. Am I on the right track?(no pun intended)

    Thanks

    Bob
  2. Catt

    Catt Guest

    Bob there are rail joiners available to join the two sizes of rail,but at the moment I can't recall who makes them.

    ------------------
    Catt! NARA#1 & A freelancer for life
  3. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Bob,
    You got it right yourself, your best bet is to replace the code 100 for 83 on the bridge, should pull out. I had an Atlas bridge with 100 on it and pulled them out to replace with code 75 finescale.

    Shamus
    [​IMG]

    NARA Member #24
    http://www.badger-creek.co.uk
  4. Peirce

    Peirce Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you might find transition track or joiners in the Atlas catalog. If not there, Walthers should list some. However, I agree with Shamus. For the most reliable operation, it is probably best to change the track.

    ------------------
    My photo albums:
    http://albums.photopoint.com/j/AlbumList?u=76905&Auth=false

    Peirce
    Southbury, CT

    [This message has been edited by Peirce (edited 06-17-2001).]
  5. Gary Pfeil

    Gary Pfeil Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bob If you are comfortable with soldering, you can try this: Slip a rail joiner on the code 100, then flatten the other half of the joiner with a pair of pliers. Test fit the code 83 by placing it on top of the flattened joiner, file or shim as required, then solder the code 83 to the joiner, keeping the inside railheads lined up.

    Gary
  6. George

    George Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bob,

    Been there, done it. Last layout I had a trestle that was 83 and I operate in code 100. Shimming and tinkering won't fix it, and transition pieces look strange to the eye telling you "Something isn't just right".

    Shamus and Pierce have driven the spike home. completely change the track or you will always wish you had. Good Luck!

    George.
  7. nopoop

    nopoop New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bob, good news, Walthers has 6 inch transition track from code 83 to code 100 [​IMG]

    Page 269 of the latest catalog, part number 948-897 for $5.98 [​IMG]

    nopoop