Track for my daughter

fjacky

Aug 1, 2006
Hello All,

My 2 year old daughter just loves her plastic train set. It's just a cheapo set.

My plans now are to build her a real train set. I want to put a shelf at the top of her bedroom wall and have the train go around in circles around her whole room and possibly go through the wall into my future child's room and come back around. I am BRAND new to this and was wondering if HO scale would be best? The rooms are only 10 x 10 or so.

Any thoughts?

TrainNut

Ditat Deus
Sep 15, 2004
AZ
You know I was going to do this to but at that age, my son really loved pushing the trains around the track more than anything else and I realized that it would not be very interactive up on the wall next to the ceiling. So instead, we just used our big Christmas train, put down a simple TEMPORARY oval of track on the floor and let him go to it. He loved it. Now he is four and his favorite thing is still pushing the trains around the track instead of operating them electrically.

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Simply for the visibility from the floor, you may want to have something bigger than HO - the LGB has some fanciful stuff (no rivet counters allowed... ;)), and can be taken down and played with as well.

Welcome to The Gauge!

Andrew

sumpter250

multiscale modelbuilder
Jan 19, 2002
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Visit site