Track Code

sweet_sean

Dec 9, 2004
What is the best cose for N scale model railroading?

I am new to N scale and designing my first layout.

Thank you for your help

Sean,

sams

Dec 17, 2004
Sean,
this is a very difficult question to answer...
all track has pro's and con's...
it just depends on how important you weight the different aspects...

so, first off, you must ask yourself some questions....
how prototypical do you want the track to be?
how much money are you willing to spend on the track?
(going with the above question)...availability?
how much time do you wish to spend (both laying and upkeep)?
etc.etc.

well, here goes, on pro's and con's:
c40...
most prototypical
economical only if you handlay...
else you'll pay through your nose to have someone custom build TO's...
c55...
emerging as the de facto standard for modelers (growing acceptance over c80 for those who weigh prototypical appearance very high)
c60...
i believe it was once offered (may still be) by shinohara
difficult to find
c70...
shinohara and ME, both expensive, or hard/spotty to find
c80...
mostly cheap and easy to find (e.g. atlas)
can be more expensive with peco or kato (but kato is EXTREMELY easy to set up, and has a record for being "bullet-proof" in operations)

so, to give you a suggestion on a code...
c80 if you want (more or less) the cheapest track available, or if you don't mind a little expense for easy to use track
stear clear of c70 or c60
c55 as a good middle ground between c40 and c80...and so probably the best overall
c40 only if your aglutton for punishment or don't mind paying for it;)

hope this helps...
if you have any other questions about track or if you want me to elaborate on any point, don't hesitate to ask:)

brakie

Nov 8, 2001
Bucyrus,Ohio
Visit site
Sean,Since you are new to N Scale I will recommend you start with C80 on your first layout until you gain enough track laying experience then perhaps on your next layout you can move up to C55..