Thursday Dees and Cees!

Discussion in 'The Caboose' started by TomPM, Sep 14, 2006.

  1. TomPM

    TomPM Another Fried Egg Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning folks

    I finished weathering the caboose office by hitting it with a wash and Dullcoating it.

    DC or DCC?

    Simple letters but a complex issue.

    Right now I am DC only. I have been spending most of my time getting the layout up and running and getting some scenery on the Great Pink Desert. Now that things are progressing nicely I am begining to think about DCC. I will tell you that when I start reading about it I at times feel like I am back in college and come down with a major headache. I then find something else to work on or read about. I do realize that I will be shortly having to learn about it and overcome my fear of sodering.
  2. MilesWestern

    MilesWestern Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually do both. DCC at my club, and DC on my home layout.

    I currently now have 6 DCC locomotives, one with sound! :thumb: That's having speaker problems... :cry: and who knows how many DC locomotives! (not me, that's for sure! :oops: )
  3. UP SD40-2

    UP SD40-2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    DCC!:thumb:, and would NEVER go back DC:D . :D -Deano
  4. Catt

    Catt Guest

    At the moment I am DC only.I have a DCC system but no time or inclination to set it up.I'm having way to much fun doing other hobby related things. :D
  5. N Gauger

    N Gauger 1:20.3 Train Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    DC only :) On all my displays and the main layout....
  6. MasonJar

    MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes... ;) :D

    I have some engines with DCC (sound and no sound), and several other engines that I am thinking about "decoderizing", but am not sure if it is worth the effort.

    The modular club I run with, as well as almost all round-robin operators, are DCC - the majority are Digitrax, with a few Lenz.

    Andrew
  7. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    DC now, and in the foreseeable future. I either have to spend time an money to convert some of my 60-odd engines, (many older ones aren't that convertible, some newer ones aren't worth the effort), or I spend a lot of money aquiring engines that are DCC equipped or DCC-ready. If I were into ops, I'd probably consider it, but my enjoyment is in the scenery and structures; right now, running trains is secondary to that.
  8. shaygetz

    shaygetz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    DCC on my club engines, DC on my home engines with no plans to go DCC on any future home layout. DCC's great stuff but, it's a hard enough expenditure to get a locomotive, only to look at it and feel it isn't somehow complete 'til I fork over $35 for a decent chip.
  9. eightyeightfan1

    eightyeightfan1 Now I'm AMP'd

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    maybe some day DCC, right now, good ol' old school DC.
  10. santafewillie

    santafewillie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    DC for me. Like ezdays, I have too many locos to spend time and money converting. I'd rather build structures or do scenery. Besides I am a one-man operation so I have no need for DCC. It is cool however...maybe after I retire.
  11. cidchase

    cidchase Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Catt!:wave:
    I'll break that thing in for you. Got any decoders you need tested?:D :D