The Art of the Typed Word

Tileguy

Apr 28, 2003
Northern Mn
Visit site
The typed word can do so much to enrich all of our lives.unfortunatly,the typed word is just that, typed and does not include with it the little nuances,smiles and gestures of the spoken word.
Because of this misunderstandings and misinterpretations happen.

While I have been a member here for 2 years,I have been a moderator on a professional Tile forum for many and have near 10,000 posts there.In my time moderating that forum i have seen many misinterpretations and misunderstandings of the typed word.
Recently I had this happen here and while things came out fine in the end with thankfully no lasting hurt feelings, it brought to mind something i shared a while back on that other forum and that is this.

We are all friends here, all engaged in an activity which is important to us and willing to share both our strengths and weaknesses amongst ourselves.

Considering this at face value we then must seriously consider the typed word as it is put before us by our friends.Sometimes we are having a bad day, a bad week, or stresses have us all wound up.Quickly we read through the posts in our favorite hangout and bang something strikes us as just wrong!!

Is it wrong,or is it a poor string of words, a misplaced or perhaps an omitted word that would have made the post seemly much differant?
Our day dictates our action and we react,are offended etc.

But wait a minute, these are my friends!!

This is what each individual should say to himself first and foremost when one finds themselves Reacting.
Why would my friend say that? Could they have meant something differant? Am i misinterpretting this?

But, will we take the time to do this, will we take the time to question our own reaction or will we just react?