Test track????

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by jflessne, Jul 17, 2006.

  1. jflessne

    jflessne Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do any of you have a seperate test/programing track?

    What length do you recommend? Two tracks? Any Curves?

    I'd like to use this to test decoder installs etc. Consisting and speed adjustments also.
  2. jim currie

    jim currie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i used DCC i had a 6 ft program track.
  3. jflessne

    jflessne Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jim,

    Do you have any turnouts etc?
  4. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    My programing track is about 20" long and forms part of my yard. I have it wired with a DPDT switch, so I can incorporate it into the "main line" to check for adjustments I do. If they're not right, I roll the engine back to the programming track & set it to "Program" and do whatever is needed.

    Gus (LC&P).
  5. jim currie

    jim currie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    0
    no turnouts
  6. UP SD40-2

    UP SD40-2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    jflessne, on the layout i have now my program/test track is 8'. on previous layouts it was only 1.5'. i don't know what system you are using, but i use Prodigy Advance, so i really only use the program/test track to read the decoder. all programing and CV adjustments i make while the engine/s are on the fly on the mainline:thumb::D. -Deano
  7. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    I prefer a 6 foot long test track.
    The reasons are:
    1.Creep ability of my locomotives..If my locomotives won't creep 6 foot then I tweak the drive till it does.
    2.Freight car rollability..I elevate my test track just enough that the car will start rolling and roll the 6 foot.If the car doesn't roll the 6 foot then its worked on till it does.
    When I was using DCC I had a 1 foot test/programing track that I used.