Starting small

Hello fellow track planners. :wave:

I'm not exactly sure where to start, so I'll just dive right in.

I haven't settled on my Givens and Druthers yet, but that is not a problem. Why? Because I will not be starting on "the big one" for a few years yet. Most likely after I retire in five years. In the mean time, I wish to build a couple of small layouts to hone my skills.

As I mentioned in my introduction message in the General area, I still have a 4x6 switching layout that I started back in the late 70's and worked on until the early 80's when I (temporarily) lost interest in model railroading. I had completed about 95% of the trackwork at that time, but never did run any trains on it. After pulling it out of storage, dusting it off (and cleaning 20 some years of crud off the rails) I started playing with it a bit. While one of my main interests is operations (switching,) I quickly discovered that I really do want continous running capability.

A little over a week ago, I had an idea on how to work in a continous loop, and still have plenty of switching. And so I started ripping up some of that 20 year old handlaid track.

In this picture, you can see the way the layout was before I started removing track. Not too bad for switching only.

20070407tgpic002.jpg

I then sat down at the computer and used 3rd Planit to print out track sections. Straight track, 18" radius curved track and #5 switches. I then laid these sections out until I had a new track plan.

20070407tgpic003.jpg

20070407tgpic004.jpg

It looked good. And it looked fun. But then I placed some of my locomotives and rolling stock on the new track. And the more I looked at it, the more unhappy I was. The main stumbling block was the "switchback" to the two spurs in the foreground. There was only just enough room there for a loco and a car. Barely.