South Eastern Railroad in Sweden

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by berraf, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put updates as new reply at the bottom of this page:
    070402 Trestle Bridge
    070412 The Rockies

    In a previous thread I asked for help with a name for my new layout and got some suggestions and the name will be "South Eastern Railroad" because I live in the south eastern part of Sweden.
    Anyhow, yesterday I built my first module using the Fremo standard and now I´m on my way with the track plan so I really could need some input on how to do it right.
    the size of the module is 900x400mm, that is 3' x 1'4 I suppose :rolleyes:
    The first module will contain a station area with a small station, loco shed and so on.
    Is it possible to have the room for a turntable?

    [​IMG]

    The theme for the layout will be wood, with a logging camp and transport to sawmill and then to some kind of wooden industries.

    Thanks for coming and much appreciated input :)
  2. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just came home from a module meeting and there it stroked me that the easiest way to build a layout isto use desert as theme but I will keep to the deep forest anyway :)
  3. Nomad

    Nomad Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Berraf, you did not say where you plan the turntable. I am guessing the left side. The upper left looks like no problem. The lower left, with that switchback, could be a problem.
    It looks like you would have to pull the train onto the turntable to get to the other track. But then, I am not sure, since I model ho.

    Loren
    P.S. Good name choice, I like that.
  4. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the time being I let the turntable rest in peace :)

    I bought some cork that is used to make gaskets off at the local hardware store and it seems to work quite well to make the roadbed of. I glued the cork with white glue...

    Right now I´m thinking of how to make the turnouts work at the easiest way. I have Peco turnouts and would like to switch them manually with a wire or a rod.

    Anybody who have a good handy tip for this?
    Could be a good celebration of my 100 comments ;)
  5. DavidB-AU

    DavidB-AU Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like they are electrofrog, so this is a good way.

    http://www.nscale.net/PNphpBB2-viewtopic-t-2987.html

    Personally I don't think the triangular piece is necessary and you put the push/pull rod straight onto the switch, but try both and see what works best for you.

    A good alternative I've seen for the push/pull rod is to use 0.25"/6mm threaded rod. It's a bit stronger than other rods or wire and less likely to bend. You can then put a couple of washers on the end to make it easy to work, i.e. nut-washer-nut makes a good "knob".

    Cheers
    David
  6. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tip David!
    It seems to be a good solution to the problem :)
    But, do I really need to take the spring out from the turnout?
    I think that I will try to keep the springs for the time being...
  7. DavidB-AU

    DavidB-AU Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't have to but the slide switch does the job of the spring anyway. It is easier to take the spring out before you lay the track. This will help if you ever want to replace the rods with, say, Tortoise point motors.

    Cheers
    David
  8. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know have glued cork under the track and the trackplan is about to become what I was expecting. As you can see there´s a lot of track at a small space but I wish to put some wagons and locos just to show off at the station module :)

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    The cork roadbed should be cut more precisely but that´s no hurry for the time being :rolleyes:
  9. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just recently bought these two GP20:s and I´m so happy for them. The GP20 is my first memory of american locos and ever since then they have a special place in my heart.

    [​IMG]

    Here´s another picture of GP20-1107

    [​IMG]
  10. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    The progress at my layout are slow, very slow, but steady. Like a turtle moving :)
    I have finished the track on the third module and also made a test with the three modules together and the test had a positive result.
    [​IMG]
    Now I´m thinking a lot off how to make the turnouts function... :rolleyes:
  11. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi berraf, I see that the N scale guys, when making private modules, sort of make an extention to the normal size module by making a module that just holds the turntable and round house, so I'm sure you can too. It doesn't neccessarily need to be a standard size module either, so long your two connecting modules which connect that section to your layout are standard. :thumb:
  12. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today I got 7 new boxcars by mail and they made my day :)

    [​IMG]

    A GP-20 will do just fine pulling them :wave:
  13. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm building a trestle bridge for my layout even though I don't know where to have it but I had some balsa stripes and thought I could do something nice of it.
    Here is a picture of my work on the bridge so far...
    [​IMG]
    I built it by heart and the most important issue for me is that it should look reasonably right and I like it :thumb:
  14. Herc Driver

    Herc Driver Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    0
    GP20 I Like!!! Nice testle work too!
  15. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've started to do some rocks...
    [​IMG]
    After some painting it looks like this:
    [​IMG]
  16. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last Saturday I was to a meeting to test if my modules were made according to the Fremo standard.
    As you can see from the picture it did :wave:
    [​IMG]
  17. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's one more picture from the meting. MickeC's fiddle yard :)
    [​IMG]
  18. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally I got the manually turnout control to work.
    To me it has been a lot of headache before it would work as I hoped :???:
    [​IMG]

    As you could see I need to wire the switch but I hope there will be no problems with that :oops:
  19. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    My third module has come to live :)
    The trackplan is quite simple but I understand it sign1
    [​IMG]
  20. berraf

    berraf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    The new module called "Card Village" will be the home for my loading bay.
    It's been homeless for so long but now found a proper place with enough room for it :)
    [​IMG]