Qestion About Building Structures For Scratch

Bigjon216

Jul 9, 2012
Cleveland Ohio
Hello the names Jon well im a newbie here & Need Some Advice & Guidance Well Im In the planning mode to do and 4x8 layout Ho Scale Of Course, But i want to try my hand at scratch building and model of current amtrak station where i live im looking for realisam however im trying to figure out the best material to use what the best to work with and where to get it , this be my first custom set i want to kinda get crazy with it so please im open and listening to all sugestions thank you

armchair

Jun 20, 2008
Yuma, AZ
Scratch builds

Jon, Glad to see you are open to scratch building structures. One thing to remember, full size may not fit so be ready to compress some things, maybe fewer windows, or columns, etc. I use card stock or cereal boxes for my builds, others use wood or various plastics.

search around the forum and other sites to get ideas. I have some pictures in the gallery as "armchair".

I also have a blog http://armchairmodeling.blogspot.com

Take a look and feel free to ask questions. Summer can be a little slow.

Armchair

Z

Zathros

:welcome1: to the forum Bigjon, Use the Search function to research the archives (don't post in them though, start new threads with any questions you may have, or post them in this thread). There are some incredible train projects documented, they may be of some help. as well may be the members of the Train forum.

You should post an Introductory post in the Introductions Section, that way we know who you are. :)

Introductions:

http://www.zealot.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=616

rowsdower

Nov 14, 2012
Utah
Personally, I really enjoy working with milled strip wood and scribed siding produced by northeastern. Most, if not all, hobby shops can get it for you and the prices are actually quite reasonable for what you get.