Project under Construction

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by nolink5750, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. nolink5750

    nolink5750 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    O.K. I finally got a couple pics to post of my layout under construction. What is the best way to do it. Do I download the pics to this site or do I need to do a link to some where else????
  2. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use photobucket.com . Its free and you can load bigger pictures that way
  3. Gary S.

    Gary S. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those have to be the hUgesT photos I have ever seen on the 'net. My screen shows less than 1/4 of the actual image!

    Looks like you are off to a great start!
  4. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nolink where are you loading those pics from?
  5. nolink5750

    nolink5750 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Roger, I have a web site that there posted to. I don't know why there so big, but I notice you can move them with the arrows.
    Gary, I know you post pics, how do you do it?
  6. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nolink I use photobucket and link them at 800X600 image size. Do you have a option to resize them with your web site?
  7. Gary S.

    Gary S. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can upload photos directly here to The Gauge. Down below the regular Reply window, you will find a "Manage Attachments" button. Click that, then you browse your hard drive, and then upload. This will automatically put the photos in your post. Give it a try, it is actually pretty simple and intuitive. Now the catch.... the image can't be larger than 640 x 480. I simply set my digital camera to take that size pics. Alternatively, you can resize them in a photoshop program.

    The other way is to post them to Photobucket, which is free. Then do as mentioned above, choose the 800 x 600 option for displaying. Use the "Mountain" icon above to put the link in.
  8. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gary what is the "mountain" icon?
  9. Gary S.

    Gary S. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm talking about the "image" icon. This is in the "post reply" window, directly above the rectangle where you type in replies. It is the yellow square with the "mountain" in it.
  10. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool ,never used it before. Who says you cant teach an old dog new tricks.
  11. nolink5750

    nolink5750 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just took some pics using 640x480 and to say the least the quality stinks. I will try the 800x600 to see how that works but that will have to wait now. I want to finish the last 2 lines at the upper end so I can start with some scenery. Thanks for the tips though.
  12. nolink5750

    nolink5750 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, just wanted to show a couple pics before the scenery starts.
    Below is the boxes, as I call them that I make. Also there is a set of the next boxes for the other side. I started reading in the Academy about Robin (Matthyro) and all the things he did with cerial boxes and cardboard boxes and it got me to thinking. I was going to have a lot of inclines and declines and at $11 to $13 a set that was a lot of money. So I decided the boxes were free "or almost" and to make a 2% incline or any incline for that matter I could make my "boxes" from cardboard. A little foam and some hot glue and some liquid nail, Good to go. I use a 4' piece of foam and then cut my cardboard boxes to 4'. For a 2% incline " 2 inches in 100" I changed it a little I went to a 2.0833% incline 2" in 96" that works better with my 4' sections.
    [​IMG]
    One of the inclines I was talking about
    [​IMG]
    Looking N.N.E. I'm ready to start the scenery in this area
    [​IMG]
  13. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    much better on the pic size nolink.:mrgreen::mrgreen: looks like a good start on the layout.
  14. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    and I just ordered 75$ worth off inclineswall1wall1
  15. nolink5750

    nolink5750 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I've been doing some work, but sometimes I think about things more than I work. I have started some of the scenery (landscape) but am not as far along as I would like to be. I wanted to tell everyone why I'm doing what I'm doing and why. My better half keeps asking me, "why did you built this the way you have so far"? She keeps telling me she can't hardly see anything. Well, in a way she is right.
    I have talked to a lot of people that say they always wanted a train set above door height. They seen one at a resturant or in a hobby store or where ever, bla bla bla......... That is part of my reason. Another part is that it gives me a chance to work on scenery and landscape that I have never done before. I've been into trains since I was a kid. Most of my layouts were on a flat table trying to figure out how much track I could lay done. Never into the scenery part of it. So this gives me a chance to work on them parts of this hobby and the best part is, if I mess up no one will probably ever know. I'm setting this whole section up to be a resort type area. There will be caves to visit. Ponds to go fishing at. Bike trails, camping sites, picnik areas ect. ect. Anything you might want to do at natures resort. I found a scatch build building I made like 18 years ago up in the attic when we was pulling down Christmas stuff. I need to repair the roof and modify some stuff. I'm going to turn it into a depot / motel.
    Any ideas from you guys would be great. Oh, I have a question here also. I was using all purpose joint compound on the wall on the outside and it cracked on me. Does that mean I put in on to thick? For anyone using Plaster of Paris.....using the "used" downy clothes you use in your dryer works great. I read it here at this forum. I tried it and it's works great. I've been talking to much for now. Like I said, any input you want to give me, I would be so thankful. Happy Holidays and now a pic for you. Only one tonight but more will be coming soon I hope.
    [​IMG]
  16. nolink5750

    nolink5750 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had some time to do some work the last few days. I'm not sure how this is going to turn out. I guess thats why I'm doing this project. Just put down some paint on the hills. Tomorrow I need to remove the masking tape and make sure everything is still working ok. Then re-mask and start putting some color in here.
    [​IMG]

    Still need to repair that building but, that will be a little later. One more pic maybe a little clearer.
    [​IMG]
  17. nolink5750

    nolink5750 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Woke up early this morning and couldn't fall back to sleep. Thinking about removing the tape. I see it needs some touch up but, Most of what is white near the track will be hid by the ballast.
    [​IMG]
    and one more
    [​IMG]

    Hope to get more done today and over this 4 day weekend. Happy Holidays everyone.:thumb:
  18. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    looking good nolink. Keep us posted
  19. nolink5750

    nolink5750 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question on trees

    Hey guys, I'm using the Woodland Scenics Tree Armatures here. Pictured below is (3) 3" trees I put together using Lichen. I was wonder how they look to you. Did I use to much Lichen or not enough? Does anyone have pics of trees you put together. Anyway, here are the pics.
    [​IMG]

    And another from a different angle

    [​IMG]

    I'm going to be making a lot of these. That's why I wanted your input..... Thanks.