Now I'm Gettin' Too Big For My Britches

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by Cannonball, Aug 16, 2008.

  1. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    The more I tinkered with Jesso's desktop layout, the more I realized it was starting to look a lot like the scenic ridge. (Well both of them being folded dogbones anyway....) So I figured lets go with that and see what happens. I enlarged the layout to 3 x 6 and went to town.

    Now I really wonder why the Scenic Ridge layout messes with 9-3/4 turns as I got the whole thing with 11's and managed to add an outside loop. Check the layout and let me know if my thinking is flawed here but it seems to me they are compacting a lot that doesn't need compacted with those 9-3/4 turns.... :confused:

    Attached Files:

  2. mistressmotorsp

    mistressmotorsp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your thinking is not flawed at all. That layout is almost identical to mine, with the outer loop and crossover added. I also have some sidings and a small yard. I was able to do the layout with 11 inch radius AND easements, which get rid of the straight sections in the middle of the curves and smooth the whole flow out.

    Mike
  3. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, it's good to know I'm not completely cracked then. :D

    As much as I like the outer loop, I removed it due to cost.
    It would mean extra track, extra tunnels, extra roadbed and ballast, etc, etc.... and more time.

    Were going to go with the 11" curves and buy our own track to go on a Scenic Ridge kit. Since this trackplan is more or less reveresed from Scenic Ridge, we're gonna pretty much throw the plans out the window.

    This should be fun. :twisted:
  4. jesso

    jesso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like fun. I'm having a hard time working on my layout, spend too much time just watching the train go around. :) Plus I drew the templatefor my flat area, but I need to get it cut out and made so that I can finish. Your plan looks nice,I just made mine a weird shape because I didn't want it to be a rectangle. Just remember, the prettier you make it the more you'll watch it.
  5. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    M'kay.
    I think this is it.
    3 x 6 reversed Scenic Ridge.
    I put in rerailers where the road will cross over although at this point, I'm not 100% sure of the terrain.

    Would it be benificial to put a rerailer in the far back tunnel or will that cuase more problems than it solves?

    Attached Files:

  6. mistressmotorsp

    mistressmotorsp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have rerailers in my tunnels. Don't often have derailments, but the few times it happens, the rerailers have been nice. Also, make sure to have access holes in your tunnels so you can reach anything stuck in there.

    Mike
  7. seanm

    seanm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about two more switches to make a run around track for the spur incase the switching bug hits ya?
  8. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    $$$$$
    When this started out, it was supposed to be a simple 2 x 3 project.
    Now I've got him doing a 3x6. I'm not pushing my luck with his wallet. :D
  9. Catt

    Catt Guest

    Some folks just can't get beyond that 9 3/4" radius for N scale like some folks think that 18" radius is big enough for HO scale.As for myself my Z scale layout has a 10" radius and that ain't big enough but it will do for now :mrgreen:

    Oh and I have two curves on my N scale layout one has a 48" radius and the other is a 42".My smallest is 22".
  10. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dang.
    He srunk on me. :curse:

    Now we're down to a 3x5 with no switches again.
    Apparently that extra foot of track and one switch was more than he wanted to put into it. :rolleyes:

    Fortunately, I was still able to use the 11" curves.

    My only question now.... can I still get a 3% incline in there?
    I really don't want to go up to 4% if I can help it.
    I would prefer a 2% but I think 3 might be tight.

    Attached Files:

  11. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    May I be brutally honest?
  12. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. I know.
    He's turning me into a lunatic.
    Verbally whip away. I can take it.
  13. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0

    John,A 2x4 foot layout can use(if my math is correct)11" curves..That is better then the 9 3/4" curves but,until modelers learn how to design a layout WITHOUT putting 10 tons of track in a 5 ton space those curves with play a large factor.
  14. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Redesign that layout and kill the 3% incline and 9 3/4 curves..Use larger curves in case you want to run long wheel base engines and cars.Add industries and a small yard for variation in operation-unless you like to see a train go round and round and round with nothing to do-that gets boring.

    See I wasn't to brutal after all.sign1
  15. GeorgeHO

    GeorgeHO Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    What you need to solve all your problems is anther overpass where you have the crossover, Going from the switches in a counter-clockwise direction, underpass, underpass, overpass, overpass. That will leave you the maximum room for gentle slopes.
  16. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are no 9-3/4.... My version is all 11" curves.
    Scenic ridge uses 9-3/4.

    I avoided a yard and any switching due to $$ that he doesn't want to spend on switches until he decides he wants to build a larger layout. This is more about the build process than anything else.

    And to be truthfull, I kind of like the roundy rounders. ;)
  17. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, there is an overpass where the tracks cross over in the back. I just couldn't figure out a way to signify that on the track plan. :D I can run a 3% there but I'm wondering about the smaller loop coming off the bridge and back down under. (Or up, depending on which way the train is running.)
  18. jesso

    jesso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Woodland Scenics 4% foam risers take 4 feet to go up 2 inches, 3% risers take a little under 6 foot (at 3% the six foot risers go to 2.25 inches at 6 foot), in RTS, disconnect the track that is going to be on the riser and then select that track and go to the special pull-down menu and select Length of Tagged Track and that will let you know if you have enough room for your risers.
  19. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool.... I didn't know that about RTS.
    Going by that, I have just a little over 5-1/2 feet if I run the riser right from the edge of the bridge.

    Looks like I had better stick with 4%. :(
  20. umtrr-author

    umtrr-author Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think 4% will be that much of a worry on a layout of this size. There would almost have to be a tail-chasing train for that to be a concern-- or a really puny locomotive...

    On the rerailer question, I use them generously in staging areas and anywhere there is hidden track. They've saved me from major pileups several times.