Newbie ZW question???

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by mgorbsky, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. mgorbsky

    mgorbsky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone maybe know why I cannot run my Command engine at all if connect to A terminal on the ZW, but will run conventional on A? Then, if I have the brick connected to A terminal, and have the jumper on B and connect track power and command base on B terminal, all TMCC functions run beautifully????

    Mark :confused:
  2. SAL Comet

    SAL Comet Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    You lost me right after "why I cannot run my".
  3. mgorbsky

    mgorbsky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    A B C D terminals on the new ZW. If I use the A terminals, Powerhouse to A plug and connect track power to A, and outer rail to U common above A terminal, and the command base to the same U, put engine on track, then power up track, I get nothing. But, if I stay on A and just pull the command base wire off, I can run my engine conventional.

    But then, if I keep powerhouse on A and put the jumper plug in below the B terminal and connect track power to B and outer rail to U common above B terminal and command base to same U, everything works perfectly. :confused:

    I was wondering what, if anything could be wrong with the transformer. Sorry I wasn't so descriptive in my original post.

    Mark
  4. mgorbsky

    mgorbsky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    A B C D terminals on the new ZW. If I use the A terminals, Powerhouse to A plug and connect track power to A, and outer rail to U common above A terminal, and the command base to the same U, put engine on track, then power up track, I get nothing. But, if I stay on A and just pull the command base wire off, I can run my engine conventional.

    But then, if I keep powerhouse on A and put the jumper plug in below the B terminal and connect track power to B and outer rail to U common above B terminal and command base to same U, everything works perfectly. :confused:

    I was wondering what, if anything could be wrong with the transformer. Sorry I wasn't so descriptive in my original post.

    Mark
  5. cidchase

    cidchase Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mark, :wave:
    Try tour question on the O gauge forum or the DCC forum down below.
    Wish I could help but don't Know nuttin' about those Lionel jobbies.
    Don't give up yet!! :D :D :D