Newbie Layout Questions

ProfLooney

Nov 14, 2005
Ok guys im not a real newbie I have put together a couple small flat layouts before with a ton of turnouts and a nice yard but thats been 10 or 15 yrs ago and now I want to get more involved.

I have been reading on some of the newer methods being used and sounds like will be a lot easier than it was before.

Questions: (note my layout will be "L" shaped roughly 6'x8'x30")

1. I was wondering what the shortest possible distance I need to raise my track 2" up for an incline?

2. I also do scale Radio Controlled planes and remember when I tried to use those track nails they always seemed to either split the tie or pull it down thus causing the tracks to narrow. I use a lot of CA (aka superglue) and was wondering if a person could glue the tracks to the cork bed and since I will be using foam that the track nails prob wouldnt hold very well anyways.

3. I have my layout all in my head and am transfering it to cad so when done just print it out on wide format and 3m glue it to my board so everything is all nice and marked.
So is 1/2" ply thick enough for a base to my layout?

4> and Finally Part of my layout will have a mine and part of it a logging camp I am trying to find out where to find pictures or what to look for with search engine to find old railroad loading stations at those camps. I tried a few things but got nothing. I am not sure the era i am looking for but I want it to be about early to mid steam engine time period and i dont know when that was like 1900?

thanks
joe

Will_annand

Jan 12, 2004
Huntsville, Ontario
www.muskokacomputes.com
Let's see now....

Question 1: usually it is suggested that a 2% grade is the maximum, this would mean 2" rise in 100". Logging lines sometimes use up to 4%, so that would be 2" in 50". Warning, with 4%, don't expect your locomotives to pull long trains.