miner cart

Soul Embrace

Jun 5, 2006
decatur, alabama
do any of you know where i can buy a miner cart kinda like the one pictured below?

minercar.jpg

it don't have to look exactly like this i'm just looking for a miner cart to add to my layout that i'm planning.

thanks

Soul Embrace

Jun 5, 2006
decatur, alabama
shaygetz said:
That would be a great first time kitbash/scratchbuild. Some N scale wheels and sheet styrene and you're off and running.

Try this from Walther's if you still want a kit>>> http://walthers.com/exec/productinfo/254-43

thanks for the link, i'm not that good at building something from scratch so i will go with the kit from walthers. i'm going to wait till i'm going to order more stuff cause shipping is more than the cart cost.

Soul Embrace

Jun 5, 2006
decatur, alabama
jim currie said:
are you doing hard rock or coal mine ?

to tell you the truth i haven't even thought about that. i was watching underworld: evolution sunday night and they had a mine track in it and that's what gave me the idea. i do plan on doing a coal area on my layout since i have a good bit of open hoppers. so with that said it will be a coal mine.

zedob

Dec 26, 2004
Chicopee, MA
I think what Jim was getting at is that, that is a hardrock cart. Coal, unless an early start-up was quickly mechanized and used larger rail cars, or conveyors to move vast quantities of coal vs. smaller amounts of gold or silver ore. Hardrock mining didn't have the convienience of large rooms as is more typical of coal mining and tends to follow veins that are typically more vertical and are confined to narrow tunnels. Most hardrock mines veins were/are rarely more than a few feet thick (there are exceptions) and the cost of blasting large rooms out of solid rock would be costly, therefore the tunneling was as narrow an as minimal as possible.