Looking for maps, anyone know?

Hookups

Mar 11, 2006
Berlin Hts Ohio
Hey,

What I am looking for is a map of the NS line out off Pittsburgh. Also, if anyone knows, where did that lead to? I am planning a point to point, but I am new to the hobby and don't have all the lines down.

I plan on modeling that line in the 70's, when Conrail had it, any good websites?

Thanks,
Jerry

railohio

Dec 29, 2000
Do you know how many former Conrail lines went "out of Pittsburgh"? You'll need to be a little more specific than this...

~Brian

Hookups

Mar 11, 2006
Berlin Hts Ohio
Sorry, I am new to the hobby, and as far as railfaning and the terms used, I am in the dark.

My basic question was where can I find maps for that area around Pittsburgh on the internet.

Jerry

who_dat73

Jan 18, 2005
Minnesota
If nothing else look on ebay for RR maps under books I have bought a great RR maps book for my area the midwest has all the highways and then just the rr lines on the next page other then that just type RR maps in the browseer and see what you can come up with or another thing I have done is go to the local libary and look in the maps books of the town you might come acrost a book that has the right stuff.
Hope this helps a lil
Mike

Hoghead

Jul 10, 2002
Eastern US
Visit site
Hi Jerry,

If you don't know the exact line, then just model something that has a feel to the region you wish to model. If it is the big main line between Harrisburg and Pittsburgh then that line had 4 mainlines which Conrail later reduced to 3 main tracks.

You can't go wrong with a double track main line passing through tree covered mountains with bridges over streams and tunnels. If you wish to model something closer to Pittsburgh then Walthers makes a whole steel mill complex that comes in two kits, one for the rolling mill and the other for the blast furnace.