Just for fun, how strong is your engine?

Bachmann_I10sa

Feb 5, 2005
Just for fun and to see what's out there, how many cars can you pull with your best engines on your layout or oval?

My best two:

Bachmann plus series 2-8-0 Consolidation (I-10sa): 21 cars (before wheels slip)

AHM Alco RS3(? RS2?), 4-wheel drive (rear truck only): 20 cars (before wheels slip)

Tyco Alco Century, 4-wheel drive (frt. truck only): 20 cars (before slips)

I'm new to the hobby...these are my best so far....I know there are stronger ones than that out there...

Attachments

• for the forum.jpg
    for the forum.jpg
    27.4 KB · Views: 369
F

Fred_M

A Trainline Dash8-40b pulls 65 HO cars, ran out of room. So does an Athearns GP38, GP7, F7, and a Proto 2000 FA1. Fred

trainwhiz20

Aug 9, 2004
Tampa, FL
On a club layout, I have gotten my Atlas Amtrak Dash 8-32BHW to haul 54 cars. We ran out of cars, so I don't know its maximum limit, but it's a stunningly strong locomotive. (With impeccable ditch lights to boot! :thumb: )

Bachmann_I10sa

Feb 5, 2005
hmm, I've gotta get a diesel like yours, guys...65 cars, wow.

I run 18" track...not sure about grading.

MasonJar, does your steamer have traction tires? My 2-8-0 has one on one of the rearmost wheels, not that it's in very "sticky" shape in its 25-yr-old age...

I'd imagine the diesels mentioned above do not run them, right guys?

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
No traction tires, and I actually removed some weight... it probably would do better if I put the weight back! However on the current 4x8 oval, any longer and it looks a little strange.. ;)

At our modular club setups, some guys do "crazy" things after regular operations cease -- consists are limited only by how many engines you can MU and how much rolling stock you can find! I do not know what the "record" is... :D (No, really, I don't... ;))

Andrew

SteamerFan

Sep 3, 2004