i need switch help for my new layout

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by scoobyloven, Feb 10, 2002.

  1. scoobyloven

    scoobyloven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got a layout i'm doing on 4 inch foam and i would like to make my switches work form under the layout but i can't find any that would be able to do it they are to short only 1 to 1 1/2 inches long and i need 4 inches or more i seen a layout done out of this at a show and it was 6x10 and it only took two pepole to move to hole thing all at once. and i live in an apartment so i went with the lighest way to build it and it looks good i'll post the pics when i get them scaned ... think you for all of your help....:confused:
  2. nmtexman

    nmtexman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are "under-the-table" switch machines available commercially. You can modify the actual throw bar to make it long enough to go through the foam and throw the switch. The only difficulty I see is mounting the switch machine onto the foam.

    Bob
  3. roryglasgow

    roryglasgow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. scoobyloven

    scoobyloven Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    thinks for the help i'll try it out but it would be alot of work i got about 35 switches to do... if their is other was that would save time it would be help full
  5. nmtexman

    nmtexman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    While attending our local GATS show this weekend, I noticed that one of our club members had solved the problem of mounting under-the-table switches on foam. He glued a strip of ¼ plywood to the bottom of the foam, mounted his engines on that and ran about a 4½ piece of wire through the foam from the engine to the switch.

    Bob
  6. shamus

    shamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello scoobyloven
    If you are using Peco track & points(Turnouts) then the Peco PL10 motor fits on to the point, only have to cut a hole out of the foam the size of the motor.
    Shamus
    [​IMG]