Help Repairing Loco

Conrail

Jul 23, 2005
Hello everyone. I'm a newb to scale modeling so I apologize in advance for asking anything that may seem elementary. So anyhow, My wonderful sister showed up at my house a few weeks back with 4 huge boxes and said " I'm never going to set this stuff up, so I thought you might want it". Was she every right. It was all of my Grandfathers HO train gear. Most has seen it's better days but thats not the point. I remember breaking all of this stuff atleast 15-20 years ago!! Me and my Grandfather were pretty close so this stuff is like gold to me.
I have an ahm loco I simply must repair. Thing is the motor is shot, and I being green to this hobby, have no idea where to locate a fresh powerplant. The motor is mounted vertical on the rear truck and looks nothing like anything I have come across. I took the whole thing apart and spent the better part of last weekend and today cleaning every piece and putting it all back together to no resolve. The motor seems to get stuck. It will spin half a rotation and freeze. Any suggestions? Any links to repair parts dealers? I can post pics if needed. It's an ahm NYC RS-2. I apreciate all of your help. :thumb:

Conrail

Jul 23, 2005
Ill be in here frequently. Ive already started my first layout. Being my first it's only 138"X48". But I have room to expand.

As for my Loco.... I found a match on eBay but I really wanted to get some fresh power inside, not another of the same that could end up in bad shape like this one. I know that this Loco isnt exactly a top notch piece but it's the memories that make it worth a million to me. I'll fix it one way or another. I'm going to try and replace the 3 pole armature with a 5 pole armature that has a longer shaft on the top and maybe try to add a flywheel. I'll let you guys know how it goes. Thanks again.

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com