Has anyone done it?

Discussion in 'DCC & Electronics' started by Woodie, Dec 29, 2005.

  1. Woodie

    Woodie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone plugged their DCC system into a computer, and controlled any aspect of their layout (including locos of course) from their computer?

    I'm gunna give it a try this weekend, if I get some time. :D :thumb:
  2. Woodie

    Woodie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh... and this is the software I'm gunna use. :D :cool:


    Well..... try and use anyway. :eek:

    click here
  3. kadidle

    kadidle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Woody, as it happens, I got my locobuffer and was able to control our christmas layout (4x6' HO) with a laptop running Linux and JMRI. Was pretty slick, can't wait to try it on the one we're building! :D
  4. LisaP4

    LisaP4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't personally use a computer, but I know a few people just do some shunting (switching) in the yard while the rest of the layout runs itself! JMRI can be a bit limited for controlling the layout, try Train Controller - www.friewald.com - everyone I know says it's the best on the market, and having had a play with it I'm quite impressed, I may end up using it to run my fiddle yard.
  5. Fusion

    Fusion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are all manufacturers that make software for DCC? I heard some actually simulate the amount of fuel your loco has and will make it stop if not filled/reset. Very cool stuff.
  6. kadidle

    kadidle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally, I'm going to be running SRCPD under Linux, and use PHP and webserver in there to build something that allows not only the dispatcher to see whats going on, but us some CLCC(Cheap Lil Crummy Computers) to display the schedual and such around the layout. Additionally it should be possible to hook up with another club/person running the software to allow runs from one layout to another.
  7. pgandw

    pgandw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    The biggest headache in computer control is not the software, nor the computer, but the sensors that are needed to "read" the layout status, and feedback/confirm status changes. The complexity of the sensor system grows very quickly with the number of trains and turnouts.

    Every time a DCC command is issued, the physical implementation of the command must be detected by sensors so that the computer knows that 1) the command has been implemented 2) the layout status has changed. A system that assumes command implementation without separate detection will soon get out of synch with reality due to error build-up. You will also need within the software a dispatcher over-ride, again to keep the synchronization of layout status despite errors creeping in.

    It's been done, but not easily.

    Yours in dispatching