G.E.C's layout pictures

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by green_elite_cab, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whoooohooo!!!
  2. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man, this is getting tough on my wrists! i need a drill press capable of using the smaller bits, because using a pinvise to get through the catenary poles is killing me, lol.

    I'm heading to a transit and commuter show thingy, hopefully i can pick up some products from IHP (Arrow IIIs and maybe an EP5/E40) and Island Model Works (Comet 1s, Comet Vs, PL42ACs). we'll see what i come back with.
  3. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you thought i was excited about the catenary...

    NOW I'M ECSTATIC!:thumb::mrgreen:

    I have in my possession the first available ALP46 model from Island Model works, as well as their PL42AC (the pair were the only ones available at the company's table). I also have a three car Arrow III Electric Multiple Unit set (one married pair and a single).

    These are almost essential models for the Northeast Corridor, North Jersey Coastline, and other NJ transit lines.

    Looks like now i'll have to pick up Comet Vs, and some multilevels!

    Its going to be a project powering these models, particularly the arrows (i suspect that the ALP46 has a frame and trucks on the way, even if it doesn't, i can always steal one off a DB101), and the PL42AC is confirmed to get a frame later this year). I'm thinking i can scratch build an arrangement similar to the power trucks on my Silverliner II EMUs.

    once again, i have no camera, but i'm sure i'll have the shells atleast built and painted by the time i get a new one. Hopefully, the rest of the catenary will be done to.

    I'm thinking i'm going to wait for the catenary. while i could build it with the tools i have, its very tedious, it took a whole day to build one bridge/crosspan, and i think i want to save up for some better tools. I'm looking into a drill press capable of holding small bits. Does anyone have any suggestions?

    Oh yes, i'm very excited now!
  4. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    :needpics:



    sign1

    Can't wait to see some of your work. Everything sounds as if its going well. :thumb:
  5. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, i share your frustration! I have pictures, but the old camera i found doesn't want to work with my computer. Also, i know these pictures will suck compared to my usual ones. Hopefully, a better camera will show up!
  6. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, as promised, pictures!

    First, some shots of my E44 under the wire!

    [​IMG]

    If it looks like the catenary pole is leaning, blame it on Penn Central's bad maitenance!

    [​IMG]

    Also, the three new models!

    first, my Single Arrow III EMU. I have a Married pair kit i need to build still (basically two cars share a pantograph and electrical equipment). Hopefully i'll find a PDT that matched these cars, and i'll add interior lighting/passenger. I might use fiber optics for headlights and markers a DCC decoder will probably fit well in the "A" end of the car (the end with the Pantographs and electrical equipment), so nothing should be visiable. Its awesome.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I Also have the very first ALP46 and PL42AC models to be sold. I've painted them up, and in the case of the ALP46, begun applying pantographs. the paint isn't perfect, but i can fix it. besides, the rough edges will get covered by decal strips in most cases, so i'm not worried.

    Hopefully, i can get a hold of some ALP46 decals used in the late Frank Cicero's kitbash of this locomotive. It will be tough finding frames, drives, and trucks for the ALP46, but i'm confident i'll find something. the Fleischmann model is probably still good to go to for powering parts.

    The PL42AC luckily has a frame that accepts Atlas parts coming in three weeks, and also came with brass fans and grills, so it should look and run beautiful.

    ALP46

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    PL42AC

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  7. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot to include my new Conrail SD60I!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  8. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    GEC- Great to see that your loco fleet is ever increasing. The Catenary is looking great.

    Love the afternoon sun look in most of your pics.:thumb:
  9. TruckLover

    TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    AWESOME Chris!!!!

    But my favorite has to be that Conrail SD60I :thumb: :thumb: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
  10. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i'm past 60 now. I need a new layout!

    I figured! Again, it looks like we're switching, lol. I plan on trying to get some C40-8/-8Ws in the future, and except for the order of GP15-1s, all my recent Freight locomotives have been 6 axled!

    The new commuter equipment stems the tide a littles (except for the PL42AC, which i can make an excuse for running a commuter train along with freight)

    I'm surprised you don't have at least one passenger train out there!
  11. TruckLover

    TruckLover Mack CH613 & 53' Trailer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    sign1 sign1 Im just not into Passenger running. There is nothing i like more to see then a string of tank cars or boxcars, or a passing intermodal train. I dont know what it is, but i cant get enough of the HUGE locos and LONG freight trains :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
  12. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ditto. I'm intrigued by traction layouts. Makes me want to attempt it myself just to satisfy my own curiosity.
  13. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fair enough! I to love the tank car trains!

    Traction? We're talking Heavy Electrics here, lol! In reality, its not to difficult once you have the parts to it all (and a jig helps). It might be worth a shot if you have spare rail laying around and some sturdy wire.
  14. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Goes to show how much of a noob I still am to this. sign1 I honestly did not think there was a difference...:oops:

    Here is a question you might be able to answer. Say if one wanted to run an electric loco using DC as well as diesels using DCC on a layout running on the same tracks. Could your run Catenary above the tracks and use the electric loco on DC (for example) so long as the wheels were isolated from the DCC signal signals for your diesels? Would it even possible?
  15. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's one idea.

    If you use Digitrax there is no need to isolate since you can use both DC and DCC locos.
  16. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose it might be possible if you have some sort of rectifier in the locomotive, but without lots of indepth modification, No.

    When you switch your electric locomotives over to pantograph operation, it appears that the pans pick up one polairty, but ALL the wheels pick up the other single polarity from the tracks, just like the prototypes.

    Of course, there are a few exceptions. I think Northern Pacific had duel catenary wires early on, and the pantographs had isolated contacts so that the circuit was completed entirely by wire.

    everywhere else though uses the rails as a ground.



    This is a double no. you'd have to modify the wiring so that it picked up power from the track as well (because otherwise there would be a short).

    Also, EVEN WORSE, You can only use one DC engine, and even then, using it will shorten the life of the DC motor, and damage other things. It basically modifies the AC power so that it is more one way than the other, allowing a DC engine to function. It also lowers the voltage across the layout so that the DC engine can function, so other DCC locomotives will be stuck at the voltage you have your DC locomotive set to.

    its a bad idea, digitrax only put the feature in to sell units.
  17. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    G.E.C.

    Another thing you can do is cut the wire from the right hand side (engineers side) then the locos only will be using the left wheels for the track.

    A friend of mine modified his locos to be able to run on his catenary system. (Its halarious when you go past a point where the catenary ends). I think Roco and Fleishmann use only one side of the tracks too. Because at another friend we can run trains (one diesel/ steam and one electric) towards each other without hassle.

    GEC is right, rather not use DC and DCC locos together. Why not just digitise all your locos instead? Then there is no need for the electrics to use overhead power. The way I see it, the live overheads (besides being technicly prototypical) only have benefit on DC layouts since, as mensioned above, you can run two trains on a section.
  18. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I was just curious. I was not aware that power was routed through the overhead wires and the track. I thought power came strictly from the overhead wires.
  19. MadHatter

    MadHatter Charging at full tilt.

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also used to think that on the prototype the power just came from the over heads and thats it.
  20. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, only a few prototype electrics had all power going from the overhead wire. Great northern was one that did so at first. Also, B&O had a small electric switcher that ran on a pair of overhead rails in the late 1800/early 1900s. It didn't really work out that well and was taken down.

    Power itself is not necessarily routed through the rails (you could probably put yourself across both rails and not have a problem, assuming no train is coming!sign1) The rails are a ground however, and so it allows it to complete the circuit somehow.