First run

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by plbab, May 21, 2002.

  1. plbab

    plbab Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well after a mad dash to the hobby shop and some fast track laying tonight was the inital run of my model RR. Nothing much a oval to start 1 engine and 1 car but it worked...... Thanks for all your help in answering all the questions i had. Now the next set of questions will begin. what a good feeling to see that engine move for the first time.................
  2. Woodie

    Woodie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    0
    plbab,

    :cool: :cool: and more :cool: that first :D when it goes round the first time, gives you a :eek: , it really does go, and I'm off and running! :)
  3. BillD53A

    BillD53A Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running trains is what its all about!! Congratulations, and keep the questions coming!! Bill
  4. Drew1125

    Drew1125 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, you've gone & done it!
    Sounds like you're hooked...
    Welcome to the club! :D
    And yes, one requirement is that you report in with regular updates!
    Oh yeah, one more thing...Have lots of fun!!
  5. Vic

    Vic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its really a "hoot" ( or should that be " a toot" ) see it run for the first time isn't it?:D CONGRATULATIONS!!!:) Keep us posted.
  6. kettlestack

    kettlestack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hot dang plbab!

    You're too late now friend. It's now in your blood!:D .
    Nice feelin though huh? No more back and forth over a yard of straight track, it's "open that throttle an' let her go" from now on.
    But hey! .... Theres bunches more to come yet .... get stuck in there!

    Errol
  7. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's your protocol for a first run? Do you invite the family and friends in? Do you test everything out first and then invite them in? Or do you just turn on the power and let the loco run itself in?
  8. plbab

    plbab Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Invitet chief fianancal officer "wife" up for first run. today grandson will come over he is reason for the setup.
  9. rockislandmike

    rockislandmike Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me too. I finished the canyon loop on my 7 x 12 layout, and just had an older UP engine running around and around. When I was pleased with the performance, I invited the wife in. Promptly thereafter, the kitten came in too, but fortunately she didn't do anything stupid. I think I'm gonna have to keep a squirt bottle handy and teach her not to jump on the layout.
  10. rockislandmike

    rockislandmike Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    PS - I will be posting a photo once I get the digital camera back from my bro.
  11. roryglasgow

    roryglasgow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Woohoo! If you do nothing else, getting the trains running is what counts most! Glad you're having fun!
  12. Vic

    Vic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do it alone...late at night... after everyone's asleep!!:D That way nobody laughs because you forgot to plug the power pack in:eek: Then after you are satisfied that things are going to work, wake 'em all up and "herd" them into the layout room for the first run!!! Be sure to say...."WOW!!! IT WORKED THE FIRST TIME":D :D :p :p
  13. alkcnw

    alkcnw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Plbab, Sure is a great feeling is'nt it? and now every time you add a section of track or a switch, and move that train a little further it happens all over again!! Congratulations:eek: