DCC unit

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by CN_Fan, May 4, 2008.

  1. CN_Fan

    CN_Fan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    What DCC module do I get for an Athern loco??
  2. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you talking about a decoder in the loco?
  3. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. jeffrey-wimberl

    jeffrey-wimberl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    I prefer Digitrax decoders for Athearn's. Most any hard wire decoder will work. I usually use DZ125's. They're small enough to fit virtually anywhere and can be installed in most of the smallest HO locos.
  5. Spawn of Chaos

    Spawn of Chaos Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    For older Athearns, go for the DH123AT. It's a simple replacement decoder that you don't even have to do any soldering on (unless you have one of the old Athearn DD40/DD35s). For newer ones with the 8-pin socket, any decoder with an 8-pin plug on it and that is small enough to fit into the shell without causing problems would work. Digitrax, NEC, TCS, etc. just so long as it has an 8-pin plug.