BlueLine Locomotives

Discussion in 'DCC & Electronics' started by Mannix, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. Mannix

    Mannix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed that Factory Direct Trains has Broadway Limited Imports HO BlueLine Locomotives with sound for $119.99. An NMRA Standard DCC Socket is included so you can quickly and easily install your favorite decoder. Each locomotive has a factory installed sound system. Has anyone used these locomotives? Are they reliable? How would you rate the quality?
  2. woodone

    woodone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have no experience with these. I did note, that this is a $170.00 unit.
    Can use on just DC, but you will need a analog control module to operate the whistle,bell & other sounds. Then you will need a decoder if you are using DCC.
  3. Mannix

    Mannix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have any idea as to what an analog control module costs? How does that module work? I am using DCC, but I thought that the price of the locomotive was reasonable.
  4. UP SD40-2

    UP SD40-2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have only bought FULL BLOWN BLI's, decoded and with QSI sound, and all the ones i have are SLAP FANTASTIC:thumb: . they have a UP SD9 that just came out i have had my eye on:winki::mrgreen: , its a "Blue line", so I TOO am interested in the facts about these:winki: .
    :deano: -Deano
  5. jbaakko

    jbaakko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. UP SD40-2

    UP SD40-2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANKS JOSH!:thumb: thats a GREAT review for DC...cant wait to hear what they are like with a DCC decoder in them:winki: .
    :deano: -Deano
  7. woodone

    woodone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are using DCC I don't think that you need to worry about an analog module. The module is for DC use only, as I interpret the information I read.
    Do a search on Blueline, and see what you can find. That is where I saw the info on the analog module.
    The price you stated is a good one. MFSLP is $170.00 or so.
  8. Mannix

    Mannix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    All of my curves are 18" and from reading your review I feel that I will have a lot of problems if I purchase the BL locomotives.
    I do not have any sound locomotives at the present time. How does the sound work?
  9. jbaakko

    jbaakko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mannix, I'm using sectional track, from Life Like, which does not sit well, normal track with rail joiners might work slightly better.

    As for the sound, its BEAUTIFUL! The sound runs off a pre-installed sound only DCC decoder that can run on AC (dcc) or DC. When you switch it to DCC you program the two togeather to make them work togeather, supposedly. I need to pick up a DCC system, so I can test it out (I've got the decoder already).
  10. Tomytuna

    Tomytuna New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok..yesterday sat. 10/13/07 i purchased 2 sd40-2 in santa fe bluebonnett colors...here's my story
    1. put 1st on test track @ local hobby store and all seemed well = DC mode
    2. decided to purchase 2 units...did not test 2nd engine..thinking 1 wrked well,,second should too!
    3. purchsed 2 NCE N14IP decoders to convert engines to DCC ( i'm all dcc)
    4. came home and enstalled 1st decoder ( which both Blueline and MR recomend) and it fit nicely...ony it ran backwoards...ok..take out decoder and reverse in..engine runs fine....reenstall engine body cover and NO MOVE!..take off body and find preasure of body is breaking pin contact and not getting reply...will try to play with it some more today and see if i can get contact to remaine tight because so far i like the product....
    5. back to 2nd engine...installed new decoder and NO SOUND....I did not tray this unit at LHS...will change decoders and see if that is/was problem...but i guess the moral of story is TEST ALL ENGINES BEFORE LEAVING HOBBY STORE..
    6. Any one who has experience with these units, I would like to hear from them with any and all help...(cause i don't want to return them)
    7. Thanks...Tom
  11. Mannix

    Mannix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tomytuna, thanks for your reply. I haven't purchased one of the locomotives yet. I have to order it on line as the hobby shop doesn't stock them. Now with all of the problems that you have encountered with the units I will have to do some more evaluating about making the purchase. Keep me posted as you continue to get the bugs out of those two locomotives that you purchased. I too am running DCC. What is the radius of your curves? When you get the locos running let me know if you have any trouble with them derailing on the curves. Do those locos have 8 or 12 wheels? Thanks.
  12. jbaakko

    jbaakko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tom, I'm not sure, but if you need help, try the forum on BLI's site. They should be able to help you. For the sound to work in DCC mode, BOTH decoders need to be on the same address, otherwise the sound board's decoder does not know it supposed to be working.

    As for the engine you got from the LHS, my LHS (The on I like the most at least) does not allow engines to leave w/o testing first.
  13. Tomytuna

    Tomytuna New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi josh and mannix...i hope i did not discourage from buying one of these as i have many BLI and was excited to go the "Blueline route"...hopefully my issue's are not germaine to all blueline's
    Mannix...my minum radiuse is 22'',, and sd40-2 is a 6 axle engine....shour handle tight turns though as most model co know people do not have large space to have large turns
    Josh--thaks for the web site..
    Best to both of you---Tom
  14. jbaakko

    jbaakko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll continue to buy BLI. They do have the only AC6000CW, and I want more then one. I want an SD9, and at least one SD40-2 from them also. Although, as its looking, I won't need the SD9, as it seems BNSF just sold all the SD9's and B23-7's off.
  15. Triplex

    Triplex Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't say?!
  16. jbaakko

    jbaakko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, looks like NRE got most of them, from what I've read elsewhere on the net. Still trying to get the full info.
  17. Tomytuna

    Tomytuna New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning all...here is a little update on my blueline issue..between my LHS and BLI ( blueline ) wwebsite i have finally got 1 of 2 engines up and going great. Sound and all performance is working fine and i will purchase more if needed...2nd engine is not going 100% yet but know it is a programing issue and not mfg...Tom ps,thanks to all
  18. redvdub1

    redvdub1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a blue line C&O 2-10-4 with sound only..I like the sound..did do some tuning on it. had to lube the phos bronze spring contacts on the tender wheels to get consistent electrical pick up and I added weight to
    the tender. I also removed the tender wheels and bent the phos bronze springs to get better contact pressure on the axles. I would buy another one w/o question..will add DCC soon