Blocked Track question

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by Herc Driver, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. Herc Driver

    Herc Driver Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another newbie question...

    I have seperated my switching track from the main line with two plastic couplers. Is that good enough insulation to run the switch line with one powerpack and the mainline with another powerpack allowing for two engines to be independantly controlled?

    Thanks
  2. neilmunck

    neilmunck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    If by couplers you mean the plastic rail joiners that the EZ track has then YES that will elesctrically insulate the two pieces of track so you are dancing.

    neil
  3. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have now separated the track into 2 electrical blocks so you can run 2 engines separately.
    You will have a little problem if you want to move one from the yard to the main line (you need somewhere to stash the other loco.) Of course, it's no problem if you keep them where they started.
  4. Herc Driver

    Herc Driver Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blocked track

    Thank you for the information...

    I thought I'd have one area to move cars around the industrial area and feed cars to the mainline that way my kids and I can get the most of out the layout. I will just move the cars up to the blocked track area and pass them off to the mainline engines.
  5. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    One neat trick to move trains from the yard to the mainline is to put a track between the yard and mainline that is powered through a double pole double throw switch with center off. In one position, power is supplied by the yard throttle, in the other position the track is powered by the mainline throttle. You could then push cars onto that track with the yard switcher, and then take the switcher back to the yard and pick up the train with the mainline power.
  6. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    or you could block wire it, and then you could throw a switch and then the different parts can be contgroled with different power packs