back EMF question

N

nachoman

I have an LED headlight wired on a conventional DC loco operating with a conventional DC powerpack. There is a resistor in series with the LED, and the light illumiinates perfectly in foward. But in reverse, the LED is mostly dark, but it occasionally flashes. I am told this is because of back EMF from the motor.

I am eventually going to convert to DCC, once I get my trackwork done and decide what system I want. Will this problem still happen with DCC? My guess is no, because the headlight will be wired through the decoder, and the decoder should filter any back EMF from the motor. Am I right on this?

In the meantime, is there a way to stop the headlight from flashing in reverse under stadard DC?

Kevin

steamhead

Apr 16, 2005
Brownsville, TX
Hi...I'm no expert, but.....A diode is polarity-sensitive. When you reverse the track polarity the diode should not light. I doubt that back EMF would be at fault here. Unless you're "coasting" for a considerable time at a considerable speed, the EMF generated is nearly non-existent.
DCC takes advantage of back EMF to help maintain a constant speed, particularly when heading down a grade. It will not affect the performance of the headlight.

bclemens

Jan 31, 2008
Springfield, Missouri
Hi, Kevin,
Anything made out of semiconductor material (transistors, chips, diodes) can be susceptible to CEMF. CEMF or "Back" EMF can happen in circuits that involve inductive loads such as motors. While I don't know how your circuit is wired so I am just speculating, it is possible that voltage spikes are being picked up in your LED circuit. If you are as old as I am, you remember the radio interference that the old point-coil ignition in cars could cause in the speakers. That's the same principle.

If that is what is happening, here's how to solve the problem: