Bachmann HO Metroliner

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by Harold Cole, Sep 13, 2008.

  1. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,i was wondering if anyone would know where i could find a motor and drive for Bachmann HO Metroliner or if there is something like a doodlebug or something like that i could use the Motor and drive to re-vamp this Metroliner.
  2. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol, i'm in worse of a position, i need to find a single geared wheel set. I have an original bachmann powered metroliner car. You probably are going to have to bite the bullet and go for one on ebay (which i know is an exercise in futulity because even junked units still sell for far more than they were ever worth new), or search trainshows like i did.

    There isn't a whole lot you can do, unless you want to sacrafice the underbody detail. I wouldn't use a doodle bug, but an RDC frame might work. Then all you'd have to do is switch the side frames out, and see if you can't move the under body details over.

    the main problem is that the original first run (and in my opinion the best run) of metroliners that had all wheel pickup/drive, had some really weird drive train with vertical drive shaft to each truck. I think the second run had similar set up except with a weird coupler gearbox set up instead of draw bars (they also removed some of the details present in the first run). After that, bachmann switched to single truck pancake motors and horn hooks, and plastic pantographs. Depending on your run, your metroliner might be easier or harder to repower.

    Your best bet is to find an old powered car, and replace its motor with a modern one. It can be done, the only reason i haven't already is because i haven't had the time.
  3. Dave Harris

    Dave Harris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any possibility of using the drive mechanism out of a Tyco Chantanooga Choo Choo unit? That set had a drive in the tender , worked faily well , they are cheap & might be able to be modified to work.
  4. Russ Bellinis

    Russ Bellinis Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check with Northwest Shortline. The have a number of compact motor/gearbox/wheel combinations for various odd ball applications.
  5. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not familiar with the unit,but i'll have to say no. I really am not sure how to mount motors in passenger equipment like that without a whole lot of work.

    Also, i'm not pleased with NWSL because their power trucks are to boxu to look realistic on EMUs. Its even worse in the case of EMUs without side frames, because then you can see the boxyness where there should be nothing.

    Your best bet is to just find a power car. they are out there if you look.
  6. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i was able to fix Both Metroliner Power Units quickly,the only problems they had was there were several broken axels.I went through some of my junk parts and found enough axels and gears to repair what i had .The motors are a tad noisy,but they run Great.So now i don't have to salvage my Proto RDC's.
  7. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which wheels and gears did you use to replace the broken Axles? i have a similar problem.
  8. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    They were out of an older Atlas GP-38,it was one i was using for parts.
  9. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those Atlas wheelsets are much to big! Metroliners run on the smaller sized wheels, roughly the same size as the wheels on the Amfleets (I'm guessing they are 36"? 33"?). A diesel switcher's wheelset is 40". If it works, it works, but I still think i need to find a smaller wheelset.
  10. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    I measured the wheelsets and they were the same size 36".They came off and older GP Atlas
  11. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats weird. I'll have to look into it.
  12. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see that you are an Electric Traction Fan.I just happen to work in the Philadelphia E.T. Dept.
  13. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, i do like the Heavy Electrics! Its taking me forever to get anything done with it though. i can't seem to settle on a strategy for catenary construction.
  14. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you got any pics of the real thing,that might help.
  15. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, i see this stuff in person all the time.

    For me, there are three options.

    One is to make "close enough" catenary using some spare rails and steel music wire.

    The second is to scratchbuild in more detail via plans i have from a "Pennsy Modeler" Newsletter i have,

    the third is to break down and buy Model Memory's kits.

    Any one of these will probably yeild a catenary system that works, but i don't know which direction I want to go in.
  16. Badyin Macfadyi

    Badyin Macfadyi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    They haven't had that in stock in years, i've been watching it myself. Hopefully, they'll get those Stemman pantographs in soon.
  18. Harold Cole

    Harold Cole Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi ,i'll have to make a correction as to the size wheel sets i used.They were not 36",they were 40"wheel sets and it looks as if they are hard to find.NWSL lists 40" wheel sets but are temp out of stock,so i'll have to wait till they come back in stock to replace all of the ones on the powered units.
  19. green_elite_cab

    green_elite_cab Keep It Moving!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, if you can't find 40"s, don't use them, because they are the wrong size.

    the Metroliner EMUs use the smaller Wheel diameter. I'm pretty sure they are 33" in real life, and you could probably get away with 36". 40" is just WAY to big in diameter, they are meant for road switchers. Find smaller wheels.
  20. ZeldaTheSwordsman

    ZeldaTheSwordsman Thomas Modeler

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I model steam, so I can't be much help. As for picking a method, try rolling dice.