Bachman Steam locos

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by Travellar, May 3, 2007.

  1. Travellar

    Travellar Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was just wondering how some of you feel about Bachman's steam locomotives. Right now I own five engines, but one of them is an Atlas SD-50 that has no place running alongside USRA designs. Of the other three, one is an 0-6-0 that came ina $60 kit, One is a 4-8-4 J Series that hasn't been right since I hamfisted a decoder into it's tender, the other two are a Spectrum series Mountain and USRA 2-6-6-2.

    I can't seem to find any other manufacturers for N-scale steam, and the Bachmans run well on DC. Trouble is, Bachman doesn't seem too compatable with DCC chips, so tearing apart a $300 then going to work with clippers, a soldering iron, and in one case, a metal file, well those just aren't good expieriences.

    Even with the troubles, I LOVE the way these engines look pulling freight around my still-too-barren table.

    *let's see if I can figure out picture attachments in this forum...*
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  2. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most people consider the Bachmann Spectrums to be top notch but generally frown on anything else Bachmann/Steam related. I'm not running any steam right now as a result. I can't justify $80-$120 for an engine with my current budget.
  3. davidstrains

    davidstrains Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0

    Attached Files:

  4. Travellar

    Travellar Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    heck, if I can go to another vendor and get the same locomotives, but already DCC equipeed, I'll be in hog heaven. Especially since I think the decoder in my 2-6-6-2 died yesterday.

    I don't care much for traction tires, as 1) they can lead to an unrealistic amount of traction, and 2) what's the point in having a 4' grade if you don't need the occasional helper locomotive?

    And thanks for the tip. I was concerned about the 2-8-0 being a problem on my layout, as 8's tend to derail on some of my curves.
  5. Triplex

    Triplex Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reember, not all 8-coupled engines are created equal. It has to do with rigid wheelbase, not so much number of drivers. Thus, a 4-8-4 will require broader curves than a 2-8-0, as 4-8-4s were usually passenger or at least dual-service engines and had driver diameters to match. A 4-6-4 may in fact need larger than the 2-8-0, as it will be a larger engine overall.
  6. davidstrains

    davidstrains Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try Tony's if you want a decoder equipped loco. I forget what I paid a few years ago but it was less than $80.00.

    I originally ran the 2-8-0's on an oval with Atlas 11" radius snap track before I had my layout complete and they did not derail. They even take the #4 Peco turnouts which are closer to 9 3/4" radius. Of course, they prefer the larger radii but can operate on a tabletop if necessary.
  7. Iron Goat

    Iron Goat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Although it is a limited selection, check out MicroMark...

    Bob
  8. Bones

    Bones Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    11
    I was never a fan in the past, but I have recently opened my eyes to Model Power steam. After seeing 4 different models of their steam run on a layout (brand new, out of the box at a hobby shop), I started buying them when they fit what I needed.

    I now own 4 Model Power steam locos: 1 Mikado, 1 Pacific, 2 Special Edition sets.

    Atlas used to make some steam locos. You can find them second hand, or new - old stock at good prices.
  9. myltlpny

    myltlpny Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a Model Power Pacific. I have to say, while it's not a Kato, it runs pretty decently.
  10. Meiriongwril

    Meiriongwril Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem I've encountered with both Bachmann and ConCor (the GS4) is derailing of the leading trucks. They don't like turnouts for sure!
    Is there any way to fix this - tightening the connections maybe?
  11. davidstrains

    davidstrains Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    My experience with my 2-8-0's over the 200 ft of main and at least 20 turnouts (Peco 6 & 8s LHand and RHand) is different. The only problem that I had was when I put a turnout immediately after a curve. Moved the turnout to allow about 2" of straight track before turnout and the problem went away. I also did a light filing job on the points to smooth them into the stock rails. (Knocks on wood) They have run for hours with no derailing. I even have 2 curved turnouts(peco 8s) and they run thru them ok also.

    I believe that if you tune the points a bit you will cure most of your leading truck problem. Be sure that the wheels and the turnouts are in gauge.

    I don't know whether tightening the truck would help. Since I have not had the problem it is not something that I have tried. I would think that it would have an opposite effect by not allowing the truck to track freely. But I am not a technician so don't hold me to that statement.
  12. Travellar

    Travellar Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, I think you just isolated one of the remaining problems on my layout, switches after a curve! Now I know what to tinker with if my problems resume.
  13. davidstrains

    davidstrains Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hope it helps.:-D :-D