Athearn Loco Problems

Rusted

Oct 30, 2002
Mankato, MN
Visit site
I have an Athearn AC44 and am having trouble getting it to run smoothly.

At times, pairs of drivers will bind up and not turn at all as the other push them along the rails. I've tried some bushing break-in fluid followed by a flush and re-lube.

I'm pretty new to the hobby - is there a tried and true method? Do you get a lemon once and a while?

I have a few Katos and Proto 2Ks on the track and they totally put the athearns to shame - Advice?

babydot94513

Member in training
Sep 1, 2002
Brentwood, Ca
Visit site
Someone once told me that they used a toothpaste that has abrasive properties to smooth out gears. Probably was one of the brands for cleaning dentures?

Sounds crazy but if it works who cares.

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Jun 18, 2002
St. Paul, MN
Visit site
Rusted,

Welcome aboard to a fellow Minnesotan! As for Athearn locos, I run five of 'em without problems. Certainly there are better quality, smoother running engines that have superior electrical pick up and run at slower speeds but for mainline running they do OK by me for the price. Fortunately I've never observed the problem you describe. I wonder if you might indeed have the lemon of the bunch. If you try the tooth paste technique I'd be interested to hear how it worked.
Best of luck!
Ralph

Vic

Feb 1, 2002
Columbus GA
Visit site
Sounds to me like there's some kind of misalignment problem or a piece of flash on a gear or worst case a broken tooth. Disasemble the offending gear set and see.

I've never been a fan of wearing in gears with an abrasive. Thats not a substitute for proper alignment and lubrication.

"Gears do not wear in...they only wear out" :D

tomfassett

Oct 15, 2002
Chandler, AZ
www.trainweb.org