Are crossovers a no no when using DCC?

Discussion in 'DCC & Electronics' started by TrainNut, May 13, 2008.

  1. TrainNut

    TrainNut Ditat Deus

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are crossovers a no no when using DCC? I'd like to utilize some but I don't want to risk shorting the system out when the wheels go through the crossover.
  2. baldwinjl

    baldwinjl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    The short answer is no. Depending on the track configuration, you might need to adjust the gapping/wiring of the crossover.
  3. bigsteel

    bigsteel Call me Mr.Tinkertrain

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. logicman

    logicman Greybeard

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Gary Pfeil

    Gary Pfeil Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Specifically, page 25 of the DCC wiring presentation on the above link shows how to handle double track crossovers. What it does not show is that each of the double tracks must be wired the same polaity. In DC, we are used to having these two tracks wired opposite, which is why crossovers can create problems. In DCC, instead of + and minus, the polarities are referred to as 1 and 2, at least in the instructions I have from Tony's for their circuit breakers and reverse modules. For both of the double track north rails, they should be rail 1, both south rails rail 2. Then the crossover does not create a reverse block, the reverse block will be the loop at the end, as shown.
  6. jbaakko

    jbaakko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Huh, I was told the gaps in an Atlas crossover is sufficient enough.
  7. Gary Pfeil

    Gary Pfeil Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,594
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are as long as the double track they connect are wired the same. I did not address possible problems due to turnout gaps. I was only discussing the reversing aspect. If what I refer to as a power routing turnout, that is one where the frog polarity switches depending on the throwbar position, is used gaps will be required between the two turnouts.