Airbrushing with Craft Paints

Status
Not open for further replies.

TomPM

Another Fried Egg Fan
Oct 15, 2002
Drexel Hill, PA
www.trainweb.org
I started this topic because I have been asked several questions regarding using acrylic craft paints for airbrushing. First off let me start by saying I am by no means an expert at this. I have only been airbrushing for about a year now and only in the last three for months did I switch to the craft paints.

I tried using Polly Scale paints but I did not have much success with them. I tried various thinning fluids. I tried stirring instead of shaking. I tried using them inside and outside. All attempts for me produced unsatisfactory results. The locations I have available to me for airbrushing prevent me from using any solvent-based paints due to the fumes. A while back there was a thread talking about using acrylic paints for airbrushing and that is where I got the idea and the courage to try them.

So here goes:

A. Item Preparation
1. Wash the item that is going to be airbrushed. I use a mild dish detergent and a toothbrush. Once the item is washed I try not to handle it with my bare hands. I use latex-like gloves that I purchased at my local chain drug store.
2. I dry the item with the airbrush and then set it aside to finish drying.
continued

TomPM

Another Fried Egg Fan
Oct 15, 2002
Drexel Hill, PA
www.trainweb.org
B. Paint Mixing
3. I use an old small glass paint jar for this. I previously marked the half waypoint on the bottle.
4. I used Folk Art paint by Plaid. There are several different brands of this type of paint such as Americana and Creamcoat. I have used these paints in the past for painting ceramics. They are available at craft stores such Michaels, or A.C. Moore. I fill the bottle about half way with paint. The paint is usually thick.
5. I then add the blue windshield washer fluid, which is what I use for thinner. My mix ratio is 1:1.