AC to DC

Discussion in 'FAQs' started by VoidZero, Mar 30, 2002.

  1. VoidZero

    VoidZero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an OLD OLD Lionel train master transformer.
    It puts out about 25 volts AC, the only problem is I have an HO train set and I would like to utilize the transformer for it but it puts out AC and not DC. Does anyone know how I could convert it?

    Thank You.
  2. roryglasgow

    roryglasgow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'd have to find a rectifier or transformer of some kind, but I don't know where to start. But if you have to buy something to convert from AC to DC, why not just go ahead and buy a new DC power pack?

    Check out www.modelrec.com. They sell a wide variety of very good power packs.

    -Rory
  3. VoidZero

    VoidZero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would buy a new DC transformer but I have an old Gilbert Smoker that NEEDS 18 Volts DC (trackpower) to work. I have yet to find a CHEAP (or reasonable) HO transformer that is capable of putting out sufficient voltage.
  4. roryglasgow

    roryglasgow Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    0
    But I think that 18 VDC would burn up the motor in any HO-scale model. I think that they are designed for a max of 12 VDC, and that's only for relatively short periods...

    I don't know this for sure, though. I see that Trainworld has HO-scale smoke generators that operate at 16 VDC: http://www.trainworld.com/seuthe/index.html

    -Rory
  5. VoidZero

    VoidZero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I know that it needs about 18 VDC. Because I borrowed a friends G Scale transformer and it ran for a long period of time (and smoked great :) ) on 18VDC.


    Thank You for your input.
  6. TR-Flyer

    TR-Flyer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Voidzero:
    Did you know that ACG made a "rectiformer" to convert one of their AC transformers to DC for use with their DC "S" gauge equipment? Check out the Yahoo groups "S-List" and see if someone there knows about it. There may be info online about how to build one of these things.

    Regards,
    Ted
  7. billk

    billk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    If my memory serves (quite often it doesn't anymore) what you need to convert AC to DC is called a bridge (?) rectifier, and you need four diodes to make one.

    It isn't too complicated. If you have a Radio Shack nearby, they should have the parts and plans. (Ask the geek with pimples, not the manager!)
  8. Pitchwife

    Pitchwife Dreamer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    In answer to your question I put together this simple diagram. If I can figure out how to attach it I hope that it helps.

    Attached Files:

  9. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Radio Shack carries bridge rectifiers already made up -- square lump of plastic with 4 wires coming out but I don't know the ratings. They're usually rated in some totally useless combination of units, say, 200 milliamps at 600 Volts. I bought one but haven't found a use for it yet. At one point there were a number of firms that made rectifier units; I have a H&M one that I use for my Tortoise switch motors.
  10. Pitchwife

    Pitchwife Dreamer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another reason that buying the individual parts and a little light soldering can pay off. You know just what you're getting.