A Update

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by brakie, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good point.

    I guess it depends on what's going on the two tracks "east" of the elevator spurs. If they can be shorter, I can skootch everything east a bit and lengthen the elevator spurs.
  2. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    First,Good job Squid and many thanks.:thumb:

    Guys,We have the layout roughed in..Now we need to fine tune it..
    ------------------

    Rail Ohio,Good point about the grain elevator..As it is now it defeats the "super size" elevator that I am working on..I ordered the second ADM kit so I can add the silos and head house to the to the first kit..There will be silos on both sides of the main building..The operation will be similar to Central Soya in Marion.
    I believe it would be better to place it in the upper right hand corner and place the paper mill where the elevator is.I need a lot of headroom so I can spot at least 7 cars on each track and still clear the load out shed by 6 lengths on the load track if I can swing 7 cars..
    ----------------------
    Thought..Could we use a Atlas 22.5 degree crossing instead of the 25?
    -----------------------
    Question:What size curves did you use?
  3. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0

    I am very lucky..Stick around we are just begining to fine tune this layout..:mrgreen:
  4. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Larry,

    I'm reminded of the old SNL skit, the "Lowered Expectations Dating Service". :)

    Keep in mind that a 50' covered hopper is about 4.5" in N-scale. To get your 8-car track for the silos, you're looking at 3' of track. That's a lot of track on an 80" door! I put 10 cars on the top spurs so you could see what it looks like:

    Attached Files:

  5. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    And if you could make one track a car longer then it would be possible to hold a nine car train there, three on the loading track and six on the extra, and load them in equal cuts. Now all he needs is a working Trackmobile in N scale! :eek:
  6. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys,This is from actual testing..A 30" piece of flex will hold 5 cars from loading shed to the end of track and 2 cars beyond with the elevator slightly off center...So,I think 46" should suffice.Sound like a lot? Its not because my old door layout I had in the 80s had 2 46" yard tracks then,-if memory serves,a 40",38" and 30".I do recall the 40" tracks because those was my primary makeup tracks.


    Where to put this monster is the next question..



    Now you can see why I ask for help.I never had this problem before and why is that? I am tempting some of my crazy ideas that I thought of while railfanning.

    Oh not to worry I remain flexible if those ideas are to hair brained.sign1

    Besides all that,several minds on the same track usually ends up with excellent results..
  7. platypus1217

    platypus1217 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking good!

    If you wanted a big elevator, maybe you could have the top sidings start all the way in the upper left right after the curve, and run the length of the layout along the top.
  8. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Larry,

    Something like this?

    Of course now with such long tracks, any moves in the elevator are going to foul the main... do we need a lead up there too?

    Attached Files:

  9. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'd almost need to out a lead up there and it looks like there is only room for a slip switch too. Unless I'm missing something?

    BTW - I'm really enjoying watching how this is developing. :thumb:
  10. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sheesh! The guy hand-lays one double-slip switch, and starts seeing a need for them everywhere! :p :D

    Thanks! I'm having fun too! This is one of the parts of the hobby I enjoy the most.
  11. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Larry,

    I don't know if I asked this before - what type of track were you planning on using? I've been using Peco Code 80 turnouts and such for this so far.... if you were planning on using Atlas, I should re-tool the thing so it's correct.
  12. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can be done with Atlas track, but I don't like the result as much. Peco turnouts are constant radius, while Atlas are fixed frog angle. The Pecos make for nicer trackwork in small spaces.

    Attached Files:

  13. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shouldn't need a lead up there. This seems like a train-a-day out-and-back style of branch. Nothing to get in the way of if there's only one train running at a time. I thought the one at the bottom was rather a waste since Larry is going to be the only operator, but I thought better of saying anything. Now, however, the gloves are off!
  14. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, my thinking was that even though Larry is very interested in operation, I think we all like to see the trains roll from time to time without having to think about it. The lead on the yard lets Larry kick cars while something rolls around on the main, for those times when he just wants to relax and putter, rather than "operate".
  15. Catt

    Catt Guest

    I'm looking at this plan and thinking it would be great for my Z scale layout,except I would go bankrupt buying MTL track and turnouts.

    But still the thought is there. :mrgreen:
  16. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok..Sweet! We are getting very close to the final plan..

    As far as the lead for the grain mill..HMM it has possibilities.Maybe a red and yellow Bachmann GE44 Tonner owned by the mill?

    As far as the yard lead..This is industrial branch so,I am not sure if it will stay but,on the other hand the layout can double for my C&HV.


    The bottom right does call for a Peco switch to gain space needed for the second industry.

    In order to save the hassles of having to change my older cars to low pros I will be using Atlas C80 track...

    If I didn't miscount I will need 20 switches..
    I can get the Atlas switch for $9.99($199.80 for 20) vs 14.69($293.80 for 20) for Peco -seeing I am retired to my mind its a no brainer...I may have to use Peco switches on a case to case bases though as I noted earlier..
  17. tetters

    tetters Rail Spiking Fool!

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installed and then ripped out don't forget! :mrgreen:

    Naw, it seems kinda silly to put one there.

    You both make good points. I guess it's all a question as to what Brakie wants to get out of this.

    Now, I'll go sit down at the back of the room again. :p :mrgreen: :p
  18. brakie

    brakie Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quote:
    Shouldn't need a lead up there. This seems like a train-a-day out-and-back style of branch. Nothing to get in the way of if there's only one train running at a time. I thought the one at the bottom was rather a waste since Larry is going to be the only operator, but I thought better of saying anything. Now, however, the gloves are off!

    Quote:
    Well, my thinking was that even though Larry is very interested in operation, I think we all like to see the trains roll from time to time without having to think about it. The lead on the yard lets Larry kick cars while something rolls around on the main, for those times when he just wants to relax and putter, rather than "operate".

    You both make good points. I guess it's all a question as to what Brakie wants to get out of this.

    ----------------------
    I think I came up with a third idea..sign1

    As far as the lead for the grain mill..HMM it has possibilities.Maybe a red and yellow Bachmann GE44 Tonner owned by the mill?
  19. railohio

    railohio Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking today to reverse the direction of the lead to the grain elevator and run a second track all the way around the right which would give you a single lead that would work for both the yard and the elevator. It wouldn't be a through track in regular operations, but would make the leads longer and then let Larry run laps if he wants to switch.
  20. Squidbait

    Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if that will work, since that would require reversing the direction of the elevator spurs... I've got to leave room for that big elevator too, y'know!