A river is about to appear

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
Chris:
You can make some economical drain pipes from the "flexible" straws. Just cut it at the flexible part and it looks like corrugated pipe. You get about 3/8". I think it looks best if you don't pull on it. I make a hole in the scenery and push the bit of straw in -- use the plain straw to make the hole and for an anchor. I then paint mine grimy black inside and out.
They're very handy to explain bits of scenery where I gouged out too much with the hot wire.

interurban

Aug 21, 2002
Pickering. Ontario. Canada.
Visit site
Hi Val, no I havent, as this is my first attempt anything can :( and will:D happen.
I bought the late`st Wood land water rippel/ water fall effect stuff for the rambling stream/river effect, thought I might try that but it will proberly end up being Niagra falls:D :D :D :D
But Trickle effect is what I want.
Thanks Val.:thumb:

spitfire

Jul 28, 2002
Toronto, Canada
www.parkdaleyard.com
Chris, you're probably already planning to do this, but if not, you should probably do a small test to get the hang of it first.

Gary did a really nice river and explained his technique here

I'm pretty sure there are some other threads right here at The Gauge about water modelling.

Good luck! Can't wait to see how it turns out!

Val

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Jun 18, 2002
St. Paul, MN
Visit site
Chris,
I've seen people use clear calk for "trickles" down rocks. For water coming out of pipes some folks cut a piece of clear scotch tape leading from the pipe to the ground or pool below and then dribble acrylic gloss medium down it. I've never used the Woodland Scenes product but maybe when its melted you could eye dropper it down (?) Water effects are always cool! Best wishes!

David, the straw idea is BRILLIANT! :thumb:
Ralph

Climax1880

Feb 13, 2004
At the edge of the woods
Visit site
Chris: