4x8 figure 8 crossing

Discussion in 'Track Planning' started by YmeBP, Mar 14, 2007.

  1. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to build a loop in loop 4x8 figure 8 crossing from my two kids. Is this a limitation of atlas right trak or is it really this difficult to get a ground crossing to line up properly!?

    Attached Files:

  2. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're using RTS, it's their hinky programming.
  3. Thoroughbreed

    Thoroughbreed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see 6 probs with the diagram:
    1-4: you have to include the 1/3 18" radius pieces when using the switches to complete a circle
    5-6: must remove the small straight pieces from the middle of the loops on the figure 8
    Eric:thumb:
  4. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think there may be a little problem with the track segments you're using. To fit a 90 degree crossing in, you need to get 45 degrees in each of the curves coming in -- where the 4 (or 5) switches are. I'm not sure, but I think the switches are 20 degrees with a spare 10 degree curve to match to the full curve (30 degrees). See if you can do it with a switch, the additional piece and a half (15 degree) curve.
  5. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    :confused:I think i understand .. i have atlas snap switches, they aren't numbered. So i think you are saying the same thing as thouroughbreed in that i have to use the little stub turns that come w/ the snap switches.

    I think i'm going to bite the bullet and learn xtrakcad becuase i can't get rts 7.0 to do what i want ...

  6. 60103

    60103 Pooh Bah

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the software have the stub pieces in it? and the half curves?
  7. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i've tried for the last 3 days and i can't seem to get it right ogign to give xtrakcad a shot and repost.
  8. jesso

    jesso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, here is half of the inner figure 8, to be able to put the switches in the right locations,
    I used a 60 degree crossing and then 9" straights, the curve pieces are 18" radius. The two small curve pieces are 1/3 18" radius. The switches are snap-switches.

    Attached Files:

  9. jesso

    jesso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I did most of the rest. Now remember, those straight lines on the outsides of the figure 8 are reversing tracks so they are going to have to be wired accordingly.

    Attached Files:

  10. Ironhead

    Ironhead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Judging from that, the only way he gets the outer loop to fit on the 4x8 is with 60 degree crossings....no way it fits using 90s.....
  11. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is a help :) boy i've gotten as far as to just layout the tracks on the table and play w/ them ahhahaa.

    Looks liek i didn't scroll down far enough .... THANKS!!! :) wow! thanks!!!
  12. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you soooo much :). I'm going to replicate your work in my copy here!!

    Yes i've decided to do this project as a way to learn traditional wiring of tracks and accessories, not to mention keep my boys off my rails :). They tend to like to see the trains go a little faster than what i like on my layout. Thank you again!!

    Beautiful!!! it works i'm going downstairs to try it out!! Thanks again!!!
  13. engineshop

    engineshop Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if you are aware that you can go to the outer circle counterclockwise but have to back up to get back.
    If you have a crossover on the lower part of the layout in the opposite direction you would be able to move between both circles freely.
  14. jesso

    jesso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking about that too as I was drawing it for him. So I have redrawn it and I figured out a way to put the siding in that he wanted. I also put in another connecting line on the other side. You need some different sized sectional track, but it is all readily available.

    YmeBP, instant message me if you would like the .ral file

    Attached Files:

  15. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got finished gluing the track down .... i must say that my apprehension about glueing track is gone... I used nails for my other layout and i think it was a mistake. Using dap adhesive caulk (ran out so i mixed w/ liquid nails) as suggested elsewhere in the forums is MUCH better. I mean .. the track is sooooo solid ;). I'm very very happy w/ how this is turning out so far, thanks again for the help!.

    Some Photo's:
    [​IMG]

    nice smooth and flat:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I've put all the rail joiners in:
    [​IMG]

    Pix of the glued track to come.
  16. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pix of the glued rails:
    [​IMG]


    My awesomely sloppy glue work hehehe :)

    [​IMG]
  17. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    The wiring going in:
    [​IMG]

    The top w/o the switch machines in place:
    [​IMG]

    My relay work to control the signals for the turnouts and main line:
    [​IMG]
  18. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    more wiring, i also installed one part of the control panel. This part is for my older son, i haven't figured out how i'm going to do the part for my younger son yet.

    Oh i've figured this out too... the stupid little transformers that you get w/ the toy sets suck. I needed two of them in parallel to fire off my switch machines and snap relay.

    [​IMG]

    This is a closeup of my snap-relay wiring:
    [​IMG]

    The panel:
    [​IMG]
  19. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    All done w/ the wiring except the leds :).

    This is the bottom after i've cleaned up and tacked all the wiring to the wood:
    [​IMG]

    I figured out how to use some vice grips to flatten the wire
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    All done :) now i have to wire the control panel
    [​IMG]

    all done w/ the basic wiring
    [​IMG]

    My new bnsf running around the layout.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now to work on those led;'s :) and scenery.
  20. YmeBP

    YmeBP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    O.k. now that i have this thing built and powered i have a question about it's operation!!

    I've been trying to get it right and i can't ;( my engines stall when going from the main line to the inner leg of the reversing section of the figrue 8. I have the "x" in the middle blocked and connected to an atlas selector. I have 2 cabs connected to the selector. I have common rail wiring (but both my rails are gapped just in case). Do i need to buy an atlas controller to make the reversing section in the middle of the 8 work seamlessly? Or do i need a primer in reversing loop operation hehehe :) i'm thinking it's a combination of the 2.