4 x 8 suspended, raise & lower

I'm very new to model RR, as my idea may indicate. I would like to make a 4 x 8 platform suspended by coated cables. Then hang it with pulleys, the block & tackle type, and run the cables over to a point on the wall, then down to a tie bar. This way the board can be raised out of the way, & lowered for use. It could be raised to within a foot or so of the ceiling, if the tallest structure/mountain is no taller than that. I would attach folding legs to it. Also, I would build a 2 x 4 frame under, that the cables/pulleys actually attach to, so there would be no actual lifting of the flat board. I plan on a couple of extra lights on the wall for the set anyway, and these would compensate for any light blocked by the suspended board when cranked up to the ceiling when not in use. What do you think, and where are my flaws? Will it work, what should I look out for? Have you ever heard of this? Please respond, thanks.

Woodie

Mar 23, 2001
Northern Rivers NSW Australia
layout design

Floyd,

Is this layout for the garage or inside the house? Underneath a layout can get pretty messy and wiring dangling down and holes and paint and circuit boards and turnout motor solenoids etc.

Have you got your other half's permission to have something like that hanging from the ceiling in the living room??? :) :) :)

No probs with the concept otherwise.

George

Jan 1, 2001
Visit site
Floyd,

I suggest you install a flush flourescent lighting fixture in the ceiling above the layout, and another flourescent fixture on the bottom of the layout for times when it's suspended. I think you may be glad you did.:)

George.

roryglasgow

Jun 3, 2001
Huntsville, TX USA
web.wt.net
Floyd,