laminating question

seraphim

Sep 1, 2023
hey up all
just your friendly question asker here :biggrin:
(coming from a complete newbie point of view) what process dyou guys use to laminate your card to increase thickness?
Ive got various gsm thickness of card that i (atm) essentially layer together to increase the thickness of a part - or use (x)mm thickness of greyboard - ive noticed that greyboard can tend to fray when cutting more complex parts, so I wondered if there were any tips for this process?

Cheers all lol

Rhaven Blaack

!!!THE MAN BEHIND THE CURTAIN!!!
Staff member
Administrator
Jun 12, 2009
Oregon
www.deviantart.com
This is a very good question. To answer it properly, it all depends on the size and function of the part that you are laminating. If you are laminating an external parts that is small, thin, or elongated; you will want to layer the part to the desired thickness and go from there. If it is an internal former, I would suggest using thick cardboard and proceed as normal.
Essentially, the part in question will determine the type of laminating and cardstock/cardboard you need.

• Love
Reactions: seraphim

seraphim

Sep 1, 2023
This is a very good question. To answer it properly, it all depends on the size and function of the part that you are laminating. If you are laminating an external parts that is small, thin, or elongated; you will want to layer the part to the desired thickness and go from there. If it is an internal former, I would suggest using thick cardboard and proceed as normal.
Essentially, the part in question will determine the type of laminating and cardstock/cardboard you need.
in general do you use specific thicknesses of card? currently i buy mine from amazon in packs of 100 A4 sheets, from 160 gsm to 220 gsm. I know some people use what ever card they have to hand but i did wonder if when laminating sheets together do you laminate until you reach the desired thickness needed? (ie 5 layers of 2mm to make 10mm for example)