Warhammer 40k Predator

Nathnem

After combing the web I am sorry to say that I have yet to find a decent space marine predator tank in which the turret is not incredibly difficult to build because the measurements and angles are not correct.

After finding this forum and reading through many of the threads I have decided to design my own upgrade to convert the rhino that I use into a predator. I am well versed in Photoshop and 3D Studios Max, so this should be a fun project. I heard about Pepakura on one of the threads and picked it up.
This is my first attempt at designing a paper model so we’ll see how it goes.

Over the last few hours I have been fleshing out the turret in 3DS and below you will find a few pics of the preliminary design as well as the file for the rhino that I will be using. I can’t remember where I picked up the rhino (probably the yahoo group) but it is not my design.

Attachments

• Predator 01.jpg
    Predator 01.jpg
    7.8 KB · Views: 85
  • predator 02.jpg
    predator 02.jpg
    6.1 KB · Views: 117
  • predator 03.jpg
    predator 03.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 60
  • predator 04.jpg
    predator 04.jpg
    3.6 KB · Views: 500
  • Rhino.rar
    255.3 KB · Views: 44

Nathnem

I tried the turret for the predator from that thread two days ago actually, and though it was far closer then any other that I have found I ran into the same problem as before. I did however use its shape as the starting point for the turret that I am designing.

Thank you however for your help.

I don't have a GW model myself so I have been using the rhino I built for scale and pics from the GW site for reference. If anyone out there has built this rhino before I would like to ask how to scale it is.

Update:
I have decided to try and make the barrel interchangeable so it is an easy switch between the autocannon and twin-linked lascannon.

Nathnem

Update:
I have finished the design with both an Autocannon and the twin-linked Lascannon as seen below.